We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, but it could use a bit more TLC”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Duck, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location, house is in terrible condition”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Let me first say that the location of this home is great! The pool is nice and decks offer great views. However, the home needs major renovations and upkeep. The yard and driveway are filled with grass patches and is completely overgrown. The deck and stairs have loose boards and some places where nails are popping up which is a safety hazard. Inside the home there were ants, spiders and these little flying bugs (not sure what they were) but they were in every room. Upon entry the house immediately smelled of mold, and there was black mold on the ceilings, on the curtains, mold and mildew in the showers and shower curtains, and the home was not well cleaned. We found dirty socks, children and let toys and tons of dog hair under the furniture and beds. While we booked this home to bring our dog it would have been nice it was more thoroughly cleaned. The kitchen cabinets and drawers are in bad shape and the kitchen lacks many of the basics. Not all the Tv's and cable were working in the home. I contacted Outer Banks Blue who offered to come and work on these issues, but many of them would have required having workers in the house for a significant period of time and I did not want our vacation disrupted. Overall, I would not recommend this home to anyone until the major issues are dealt with especially the black mold and the bugs. It is a health hazard to be an environment like that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdesimone...
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs some maintenance, asap!”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week stay in one of their properties (Kestrel's Perch), property was not well maintained at all, kitchen lights didn't work unless you use the outlet in the kitchen wall then they would come on, sometimes just flickered and went back off, which tells me there is an electrical problem in the wall and it could be dangerous. The sliding door could not be locked, we had to use a fireplace poker to keep the door from being able to be opened when we were gone or sleeping. Refrigerator was on it's last leg, we had to limit how often we opened the door to keep our food cold, also the freezer leaked water into the refrigerator so all of the shelves stayed wet. We did contact Outer Banks Blue shortly after we arrived to let them know about the problems, were told someone would call us back about coming out but no-one ever did. This house has great potential but it's just not being taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: I was scared to sleep at night due to electrical issues and door not locking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMJ1161
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, but it could use a bit more TLC”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I gave this property a rating of 4 because of it's location and layout and because it is a pet friendly rental. For the price it can't be beat. Great pool, nice hot tub and the beach is right there!! Also, the management company is really great to work with.

I would have rated it lower, but the issues that affect my opinion may not bother other people:
- The outside is really overgrown with thorny vines and out-of-control shrubbery. We had to take some kitchen shears and clip some of the bushes and vines back.
-Annoying bugs - apparently it was a bad year for some sort of non-biting insect, and they were all over the back of the house and deck each night and early morning. And, if you left a door open for more than 2 sec at night, they would come into the house. The management company sent someone out to clean up, but I think the overgrown property probably made this house a great spot for these bugs to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh4
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking forward to spending another vacation here”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

8 adults, 2 kids and 2 dogs enjoyed their stay here. Layout of house is great. Tile floor in main area easy to keep clean. Plenty of room for all. Deck facing ocean is awesome and can't get much closer to the water. Steps make very easy access to beach. Gates at top of deck steps helpful for keeping dogs (and young children) in. Very clean house, except for some dead bugs in light fixtures and an electric oven and outdoor grill that have been around awhile. Two bathrooms had low water pressure. None of these issues detracted from the fun. Nice private pool area, plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. Keyless entry is so much better than picking up a key at an office. We would gladly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower water pressure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill PA
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2012
Dear creddinger1,

Thanks for your comments regarding Kestrel's Perch. This house does have a fantastic location and we are happy to report that since your stay the homeowners have been very proactive and have put in many updates and upgrades to the home for the 2013 season.
We think you will be very pleased with the work that the owner has put in to ensure their guests' satisfaction.
Please come back and try Kestrel's Perch again soon. You won't be disappointed.
All the best from the beach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Marys
Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2011
Dear vidnavy,

Thanks for yor comments regarding Kestrel's Perch. We apologize that your stay at this home was less than you expected.

We do however have good news. The homeowner has spent the last few months updating the house from top to bottom for the 2013 season.Check out the new photos that we've posted on our site (www.outerbanksblue.com) which give you an idea of the new and fresher look that this beautiful oceanfront property offers this year's guests.

We hope you will return to Kestrel's Perch again soon - we certainly look foward to serving you again in the near future.

All the best from the beach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing