We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Was here for 3 nights for an anniversary getaway. Pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. The rooms were nicely and newly decorated and the baths large and spacious. The deck off our room was rather small - we preferred the front deck and also the lobby area in the south wing where our room was - a beautiful area to see both sunrises and sunsets. The Left Bank restaurant was superb in both food and service, but should be since the prices were extraordinary. We also had dinner one night and breakfast each morning in The Life Saving Station and everything was excellent there also (much more affordable). We felt like we had the resort basically to ourselves and the beach also, which made it wonderful. We were told by many that it was the "calm before the storm", meaning things changed alot in the summer months. The spa was nothing special - the prices made you think that it should be much more wonderful than it is. I would not hesitate to return to this part of the outer banks, and would definately stay again at this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickypicky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

Having never been to the Outer Banks, we were very impressed when we walked into the inn. Our fabulous room was on the third floor, ocean front. Very comfortable king room with sofa, work table, gorgeous bathroom and balcony with beautiful views of the Atlantic. We enjoyed a nice breakfast each morning at the Lifesaving Station and had drinks and a light dinner at the bar on the evening we arrived. On our last night, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Left Bank. Housekeeping was great - our room was always freshly made up each day and turndown service (with yummy taffy) provided each evening. The beach was great, with chairs and umbrellas provided for guests. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwcna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Sanderling was a great resort. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Situated right on the beach, the location and amenities were great. Beach chairs, umbrellas and lovely boardwalk overlooking the ocean. The casual restaurant served delicious breakfasts. The room was clean and the bathroom was beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We made an online reservation to attend a wedding and never received a confirmation. When we called to confirm or book another room we were put on hold 4 times by a very nice but apparently frazzled young man named Max who claimed he was the only one working at the front desk. Finally after the 4th call Max told us the reservations staff had all left for the night, this was 20 minutes before they were scheduled to close. Unbelievably disorganized and poor service for such a prominent hotel!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank wanderinfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at The Sanderling several years ago, the dreary month of November, and determined to return during a nicer month. Our room looked out on a little pool with waterfalls, a short walk from the Atlantic Ocean. The restaurants are both excellent, the Spa massage one of the best. There is plenty to do, including a visit to Kitty Hawk, peaceful or quietly active.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaAlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is a gem. For a quiet weekend break, this hotel has it all. Location is everything. The rooms are fine, well equiped and comfortable. The facilities are great. The beach is excellent. Thre were plenty of families here but it's just as good for couples. The Life Saving House is a great restaurant with really high quality food and service. I would happily recommend this to a friend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Great rooms, great view, great place to get away and meet! Left Bank is a great restaurant overlooking the sound!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank sully2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $151 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing