We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
782
238
89
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
238
89
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifesaving station fire pit the life saving station family pool beach house the outer banks sand bar tranquility pool kimball's kitchen turn down service adult pool north wing chairs and umbrellas blue point s'mores kit off season main building
Filter
Updating list...
1,083 - 1,088 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Having never been to the Outer Banks, we were very impressed when we walked into the inn. Our fabulous room was on the third floor, ocean front. Very comfortable king room with sofa, work table, gorgeous bathroom and balcony with beautiful views of the Atlantic. We enjoyed a nice breakfast each morning at the Lifesaving Station and had drinks and a light dinner at the bar on the evening we arrived. On our last night, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Left Bank. Housekeeping was great - our room was always freshly made up each day and turndown service (with yummy taffy) provided each evening. The beach was great, with chairs and umbrellas provided for guests. We cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwcna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Sanderling was a great resort. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Situated right on the beach, the location and amenities were great. Beach chairs, umbrellas and lovely boardwalk overlooking the ocean. The casual restaurant served delicious breakfasts. The room was clean and the bathroom was beautiful.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We made an online reservation to attend a wedding and never received a confirmation. When we called to confirm or book another room we were put on hold 4 times by a very nice but apparently frazzled young man named Max who claimed he was the only one working at the front desk. Finally after the 4th call Max told us the reservations staff had all left for the night, this was 20 minutes before they were scheduled to close. Unbelievably disorganized and poor service for such a prominent hotel!

Date of stay: May 2010
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank wanderinfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at The Sanderling several years ago, the dreary month of November, and determined to return during a nicer month. Our room looked out on a little pool with waterfalls, a short walk from the Atlantic Ocean. The restaurants are both excellent, the Spa massage one of the best. There is plenty to do, including a visit to Kitty Hawk, peaceful or quietly active.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaAlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is a gem. For a quiet weekend break, this hotel has it all. Location is everything. The rooms are fine, well equiped and comfortable. The facilities are great. The beach is excellent. Thre were plenty of families here but it's just as good for couples. The Life Saving House is a great restaurant with really high quality food and service. I would happily recommend this to a friend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews