We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$344
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$339
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveler rating
757
228
87
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
228
87
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslifesaving stationfire pitthe life saving stationfamily poolbeach housethe outer bankssand barkimball's kitchentranquility pooladult poolnorth wingcasual restaurantturn down serviceblue pointchairs and umbrellass'mores kitoff season
Filter
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed here for 6 days, the location is lovely and the hotel is well placed. But there is no main area to congregate so it feels disjointed and lacks personality. you only ever see the ladies who clean the rooms. The bistro is average only and the expensive restaurant, is just that - expensive. the spa is very homely and the therepists experienced.
The rooms are very nice and it is no problem spending time in them, the fridge is empty, I would have preferred it stocked as there was no bar as such.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardtofindaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Although the weather didn't cooperate the weekend we stayed here, everything was lovely except for the stained carpet and upholstery in our room. We stayed at the Main Inn and had a spectacular view of the ocean. Be sure to ask for an ocean view, because the sound of the breakers will lull you to sleep every night. It was wonderful. We enjoyed both restaurants very much. The food at the Left Bank was outstanding. The only glitch was the maitre d', who seemed to think that we were not quite up to his standards! The rest of the staff were just wonderful, though.
We were there for just a weekend, so we didn't have time to try the spa, but I'd love to go back when the weather is nice and experience a massage.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long week end at the Sanderling. We arrived around 2:00 and our room was ready at check in. We chose the B&B package which included breakfast each morning at The Lifesaving Station rest. and a bottle of wine. We were given a dune view room on the first floor.(there are only 2 floors!). The room was nice,clean but dark.You can not see the ocean from this room because it is below the dunes. To get a room upgrade to the top floor would have been another 40-50 $$ a nite. They were described to me as partial ocean view. Not sure if you could see the ocean. There was a balcony with a screen door,2 chairs and a small table. The screen door was nice because we could keep the door open to let fresh air in. The room was dark, which we don't care for,but did not dampen our week end. The only thing I would like to have seen changed was the carpet. It seemed worn. Bath room had granite counter, large corner shower,no tub. comfy down comforter and matalaise spread. Flat screen TV and small room fridge were nice as well. The food at Lifesaving was fabulous.Great breakfast and 1 dinner there which was good as well. Both of us had pedicures at the spa. Great job and relaxing way to start the morning.Thanks girls!! Everyone was friendly and attentive. This was a good time to go to the Outer Banks, no crowds, great service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband took me here as a surprise to celebrate our anniversary. Normally we probably wouldn't spend this much for a weekend, but this place was worth it! The Sanderling is located on a narrow strip of land, with the ocean on one side and the sound on the other. The room was huge and really nice, although it did smell a little musty upon arrival and each time we came back in after a few hours away. Our room faced the parking lot and not the beach, but a beach side room was even more $$. However we had a large deck and we actually enjoyed watching some wedding guests come and go one evening! I can see how you might get locked out on the deck though, since the doorknob would not un-lock, but they had a warning sign on the wall and we just flipped the deadbolt to keep it from shutting all the way.

We explored the property the next morning and they have an outdoor pool and an indoor pool. It was too cold for the outdoor pool but it looked like it would be fun to hang out there in the summer, with lots of lounge chairs and a large poolhouse. We did use the indoor pool and it was the perfect temperature, with skylights and sliding glass doors to let in the outside air. The beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are a nice touch too and are always available, even at night if you want to stay up late and go sit on the beach. They also have an accessible dock on the sound side, which was the perfect location to watch the sun set one night. The "nature trail" was nothing special, just a grassy path along the side of the road.

We got the Sanderling package which gave us 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner. The Lifesaving Station, where we had both breakfasts, was pretty good, but it is kind of pricey for what you get ($10.95 for an omelet). However, the Station served breakfast until 11:30 AM, which meant that we didn't need to eat lunch as we are late risers. We had dinner at the Left Bank, which is the fancier and more expensive restaurant there. We spent a little more than we planned to, but it was a great meal. We ordered the octopus and squid linguine as an appetizer, but the linguine had the distinct flavor of salty Ramen noodles.... probably from the intensely salty octopus... at least I can say I tried something new! The flounder and filet were both very good. The drinks and wine were also quite expensive but really good- we even wrote down the name of the wine to try to get at home.

All in all this was a wonderful place to spend a weekend! It would probably be prohibitively expensive to spend a week here with all of the great houses nearby, but I would love to go back again for another special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GingerRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My significant other and I decided to make a last minute trip to the Outerbanks for Labor Day. We both have never visited, but heard great things about the area. We've had friends who stayed at The Sanderling before, so we decided to do the same. I'm glad we did because the resort, staff, and location gave us a wonderful first experience of the outer banks. Besides having an ocean view room, we had no more than a minute walk to the private (non crowded) beach. Beach towels, chairs, and umbrella's are all provided, thus there is less we needed to haul to the beach. Afternoon cookies and tea was quite a treat and we also had breakfast in the Lifesaving Station which had a lot of historical pieces. Duck is a beautiful town with many upscale restaurants, clean beaches, and not very crowded. I recommend staying at The Sanderling when visiting the Outer Banks

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdextravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews