We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our wedding was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

The Sanderling is fantastic, my new husband and I stayed there 3 times this past year because we were planning our wedding. We have stayed in in the North Inn, which has been renovated and it's just got a wonderful feel, very beachy! We also stayed in the Main Inn with a 2 floor ocean view suite which was fantastic, we woke up the day after we got married and had breakfast on the balcony, beautiful! The area is gorgeous and the staff is just wonderful, they went above and beyond for me, my husband and all our guests. It was a great wedding and I can't tell you how many compliments I have received from our guests saying it was the most beautiful wedding they'd been to!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justmarried0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2009
Congratulations on your recent Wedding at The Sanderling. We appreciate your confidence in our facility and staff. We hope you will celebrate with us again.

Our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    199
    78
    19
    12
See reviews for
212
537
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed here for 6 days, the location is lovely and the hotel is well placed. But there is no main area to congregate so it feels disjointed and lacks personality. you only ever see the ladies who clean the rooms. The bistro is average only and the expensive restaurant, is just that - expensive. the spa is very homely and the therepists experienced.
The rooms are very nice and it is no problem spending time in them, the fridge is empty, I would have preferred it stocked as there was no bar as such.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardtofindaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Although the weather didn't cooperate the weekend we stayed here, everything was lovely except for the stained carpet and upholstery in our room. We stayed at the Main Inn and had a spectacular view of the ocean. Be sure to ask for an ocean view, because the sound of the breakers will lull you to sleep every night. It was wonderful. We enjoyed both restaurants very much. The food at the Left Bank was outstanding. The only glitch was the maitre d', who seemed to think that we were not quite up to his standards! The rest of the staff were just wonderful, though.
We were there for just a weekend, so we didn't have time to try the spa, but I'd love to go back when the weather is nice and experience a massage.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicott city, md.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long week end at the Sanderling. We arrived around 2:00 and our room was ready at check in. We chose the B&B package which included breakfast each morning at The Lifesaving Station rest. and a bottle of wine. We were given a dune view room on the first floor.(there are only 2 floors!). The room was nice,clean but dark.You can not see the ocean from this room because it is below the dunes. To get a room upgrade to the top floor would have been another 40-50 $$ a nite. They were described to me as partial ocean view. Not sure if you could see the ocean. There was a balcony with a screen door,2 chairs and a small table. The screen door was nice because we could keep the door open to let fresh air in. The room was dark, which we don't care for,but did not dampen our week end. The only thing I would like to have seen changed was the carpet. It seemed worn. Bath room had granite counter, large corner shower,no tub. comfy down comforter and matalaise spread. Flat screen TV and small room fridge were nice as well. The food at Lifesaving was fabulous.Great breakfast and 1 dinner there which was good as well. Both of us had pedicures at the spa. Great job and relaxing way to start the morning.Thanks girls!! Everyone was friendly and attentive. This was a good time to go to the Outer Banks, no crowds, great service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband took me here as a surprise to celebrate our anniversary. Normally we probably wouldn't spend this much for a weekend, but this place was worth it! The Sanderling is located on a narrow strip of land, with the ocean on one side and the sound on the other. The room was huge and really nice, although it did smell a little musty upon arrival and each time we came back in after a few hours away. Our room faced the parking lot and not the beach, but a beach side room was even more $$. However we had a large deck and we actually enjoyed watching some wedding guests come and go one evening! I can see how you might get locked out on the deck though, since the doorknob would not un-lock, but they had a warning sign on the wall and we just flipped the deadbolt to keep it from shutting all the way.

We explored the property the next morning and they have an outdoor pool and an indoor pool. It was too cold for the outdoor pool but it looked like it would be fun to hang out there in the summer, with lots of lounge chairs and a large poolhouse. We did use the indoor pool and it was the perfect temperature, with skylights and sliding glass doors to let in the outside air. The beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are a nice touch too and are always available, even at night if you want to stay up late and go sit on the beach. They also have an accessible dock on the sound side, which was the perfect location to watch the sun set one night. The "nature trail" was nothing special, just a grassy path along the side of the road.

We got the Sanderling package which gave us 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner. The Lifesaving Station, where we had both breakfasts, was pretty good, but it is kind of pricey for what you get ($10.95 for an omelet). However, the Station served breakfast until 11:30 AM, which meant that we didn't need to eat lunch as we are late risers. We had dinner at the Left Bank, which is the fancier and more expensive restaurant there. We spent a little more than we planned to, but it was a great meal. We ordered the octopus and squid linguine as an appetizer, but the linguine had the distinct flavor of salty Ramen noodles.... probably from the intensely salty octopus... at least I can say I tried something new! The flounder and filet were both very good. The drinks and wine were also quite expensive but really good- we even wrote down the name of the wine to try to get at home.

All in all this was a wonderful place to spend a weekend! It would probably be prohibitively expensive to spend a week here with all of the great houses nearby, but I would love to go back again for another special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

My significant other and I decided to make a last minute trip to the Outerbanks for Labor Day. We both have never visited, but heard great things about the area. We've had friends who stayed at The Sanderling before, so we decided to do the same. I'm glad we did because the resort, staff, and location gave us a wonderful first experience of the outer banks. Besides having an ocean view room, we had no more than a minute walk to the private (non crowded) beach. Beach towels, chairs, and umbrella's are all provided, thus there is less we needed to haul to the beach. Afternoon cookies and tea was quite a treat and we also had breakfast in the Lifesaving Station which had a lot of historical pieces. Duck is a beautiful town with many upscale restaurants, clean beaches, and not very crowded. I recommend staying at The Sanderling when visiting the Outer Banks

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdextravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed in the North Inn. Our room probably had the worst view (partial parking lot and a big shrub) in the whole inn and we still loved it. Keep in mind that ocean views will be blocked by sand dunes as per NC law. The housekeeping staff is terrific and Quitta was excellent.

Pros at the Sanderling: canvas umbrellas; comfortable beach chairs; lots of blue and white striped beach towels; a world-class day spa; comfortable beds and pillows; helpful staff; Anna, the concierge; coffee and newspapers in the lobbies at 7:00 a.m.; mini-refrigerators in the rooms; and the porches. Basically, all you need is a swimsuit.

Cons at the Sanderling: the food is awful; plan to eat all of your meals off the premises.

Restaurant suggestions in Duck: Duck Doughnuts; Coastal Cravings (for an amazing egg and crabcake breakfast sandwich); Coastal Provisions; and Waves Pizza. Avoid late seatings at the Blue Point, Aqua S, and the restaurants at the Sanderling.

Fun things to do nearby: The kayak tours with Coastal Kayaks and jet-skiing at the Sunset Grille.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OuterBanksFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Property: Sanderling Resort
Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing