We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, best room service pancakes”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Sanderling is a highly recommended resort on the northern part of the Outer Banks. The whole resort spans the island from the east to west, both bay and ocean front. The beach for the resort is beautiful. The indoor pool is nice and if it is high winds there is a small area behind the indoor pool to enjoy the sun on cool windy days.

Visit the Bar upstairs at the Lifesaving Station. The bartender provides great local recommendations and good conversation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDiehl783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed overnight at The Sanderling while attending a wedding in the Outer Banks. Initially there was a misunderstanding about our reservation as we booked through Hotel.com but that was resolved fairly quickly. I found the decor of the hotel to be tastefully done, especially in the guest rooms, it felt more like you were staying in a friend's beach house more than a hotel room. The bed was luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom was huge and modern. I would not rate this hotel as a 5 star luxury, but I would not hesitate to stay here again while in the outer banks.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Between being locked out on our balcony in 45 degree weather by a broken lock and being misled about renovations in the spa being complete when they weren't and the fact that the staff basically ignored our complaints, I'd tell people not to throw their money away here! The spa staff was noisy. I had to shower by the pool after my massage because the men's locker was closed where a female staff member walked in on me and then didn't even apologize for it. The only water available anywhere on the property is tap water. Customer comment cards sit in a pile behind the front desk being ignored by management . We've been to many hotels and spas and this was by far the worst value per dollar spent anywhere!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank agree499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2009

We apologize for the challenges experienced. It is unfortunate the spa renovations impacted the stay. They have been fully completed at this time. We continuously look to improve our services and product and appreciate all comments in order for us to continue training and enhancing the guest experience. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife and I recently completed a Fri-Sat 2-night stay at the The Sanderling in late March for our 5-year wedding anniversary. Though the weather turned out to be rainy, we were very pleased with our relaxing and quiet weekend. It was off-season and that made prices more reasonable for the South Building 3rd floor room with ocean view than peak season. We paid about $220/night plus taxes and believe we received very good value (namely the sight and sound of the ocean from our room & balcony). The room was spacious and comfortable; my wife commented on some of the higher-quality aspects of the room like wooden blinds, nice bed coverings (not to mention the ocean view which, though somewhat obscured by the sand dunes, was beautiful) and comfortable bed. That said, as other reviewers have suggested, there were some aspects of the room that prevent me from classifying it as top-notch luxury: some not-so-obvious inconsistent paint touch-ups, dead batteries in one of the remote controls, small in-room coffee pot, some unpainted areas on the window sill and some very slight dust/debris build-up near the ventilation duct. These latter aspects of the room quality were not immediately obvious but, instead, only apparent after we spent 2 days there and, due to the weather, relaxing in the room. We did take advantage of the loaner DVD player (no movies) provided by the front desk; they came and set it up and we were able to watch our own movie on the large flat panel TV in the room. We also took advantage of the complimentary scones/cookies and tea each afternoon in the main building by the communal fire place; coffee and tea were also available each morning in the lobby.

We have traveled extensively around the world and stayed in many top notch hotels and resorts (as well as many budget hotels, pensions and hostels). Whether it be Cairo, Rome, Bangkok or, in this case Duck, one has to consider the surrounding theme, local economy, competition, etc. when determining 'value' for one's lodging. All aspects considered including the relaxed "beach spirit" and relatively high cost of labor in the US, we found this hotel to provide good value. Some reviewers have taken exception to calling this establishment a 'resort' and I tend to agree. Though there are pools, jacuzzis, etc., it has more of a hotel feel than a resort feel (I usually associated the latter with sprawling grounds, around-the-clock service, etc.). The Sanderling does have a spa but we did not use any of the services. Likewise, there was a modest-sized gym in the South Building (there may have been others) that we did not try.

Our anniversary dinner at the Left Bank was very good value with a fixed price at approx $70/meal plus wine and gratuity (a larger 7-course meal is available for more $). It was more quality than quantity but we did not leave hungry (we're big eaters). Service was very good; not stuffy but not too casual (it is a beach setting so everything is a bit more relaxed). We dined early and enjoyed the view over the sound (including some scurrying little foxes playing along the bank). The restaurant was uncrowded but started to get busier later in the evening; in peak season seating could be a problem. They recommend reservations as does the more casual Life Saving Restaurant (which we opted not to try as it seemed a bit drab to us -- more interesting places to try in the city of Duck itself). We tried breakfast room service and found the quality and cost to be very reasonable.

Traffic on the single road to/from the hotel from elsewhere on the island was extremely light but we were warned that it can become quite congested (and all persons stressed 'quiet' congested) in the peak season. Beware.

We enjoyed several walks on the peaceful beach (see attached photos). Since it was off-season, we often felt we had the entire coast to ourselves. The sand was somewhat sharper and rougher than some other sands we've experienced elsewhere; I have tough feet and walked barefoot with no problem but my wife appreciated having her sandals. We collected an assortment of shells, saw several washed-up starfish and skate egg cases (black rectangular objects) and even dolphins swimming off-shore. We also took a walk on the nearby Audubon nature trail... nothing to rave about but gave us something to do nearby but off the beach.

We look forward to going back to this hotel -- in the off-season again. We'll bring our young son along next time as the establishment appears kid-friendly (though it does not appear to cater to kids -- they simply don't frown on little people running around).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PackTheBagAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We got lucky when we found The Sanderling for a short getaway on the Outer Banks. Great location right on the dunes overlooking the ocean. Huge room with balcony. Dreamy beds. Large bathroom with shower I wish I could have brought home with us. Free wireless internet and safe for laptop. 2 large screen tvs - one in the bedroom and one in the living area. And this was their standard room. Rate we got calling the hotel was less than hotels.com or expedia. Like others have reported, check-in seems unnecessarily slow since staff doesn't seem to know how computer system works. But staff is friendly and our room was spotless. Restaurant on premises doesn't disappoint but doesn't amaze, either. We didn't try their formal price fixed restaurant across the street But we'll certainly be back. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights at the Sanderling in November - a great time of year to be there.
Great location, right on the beach, nice property all around.

We were in the North Inn in a king room on the second level with a nice balcony facing the ocean.
The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and recently renovated. The bath was also very nice, new and modern - no tub but a very large shower enclosure.

They offer complimentary afternoon tea and cookies which is perfect before a long walk on the beach. Breakfast was excellent and not too expensive.

All in all a lovely stay in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful if too brief respite at The Sanderling (Duck, NC) during the second week of October. While rooms at the inn fetch top dollar even during the off season for an ocean resort area, overall the experience justified the cost. The Sanderling is located right on the oceanfront a few miles north of Duck. Our room faced the Currituck Sound and had a nice size porch overlooking the sound. The room itself was generously sized and had very nice accompaniments, including a bar with sink, refrigerator, and microwave. Add to that an HD large screen LCD/TV, high speed internet, a nice restaurant. and a short few steps to the beach. What more could one ask for? It's a great vacation spot and the weather was perfect (mid-70s to low 80s) during our stay. We enjoyed spectacular sunsets over the sound and full moon rises over the Atlantic. October is a great time of year to visit Sanderling if you don't have school-age children. It's quiet and there's very little of the traffic that we've experienced on the Outer Banks during peak season.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,629 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $146 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing