We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family Fun in OBX"”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family and I spent three days at the Sanderling and had a wonderful time. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The two pools give you a nice option one is for families with small children and one is for adults. The beach is beautiful and they offer a variety of water sports, very comfortable chairs and umbrellas are provided.Beautiful fire pits are lit at night where you can listen to music and roast s'mores, a fun treat that is left in your room upon arrival. All of the staff that we met are very friendly and helpful. The life house Resturant on sight serves a very good breakfast. And Kimballs Kitchen is a wonderful place for dinner.

Room Tip: If you don't have children you might want to choose a room away from the family pool, it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed all our dining and amenities during your visit to the East Coast. We hope your travels will bring you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the Sanderling Resort. We stayed in a king oceanview room on the second floor. We were pleased with our room -- the size was comfortable and the balcony adequate for two people. As many have stated, this resort sets a high bar for service, amenities, design, layout and cleanliness of the property.

The town of Duck is enchanting and the vision up Rt 12 is one of large well maintained homes surrounded by dense and well manicured foliage. There is a sidewalk with trees shading the path for the runners and bicyclists. The sound is visible so you get a true island experience. The Sanderling enhances the experience by having large windows and balconies with excellent views of the ocean on the east and the sound on the west in the Beachhouse. The property is designed so you feel you are part of a village. We were greeted by staff at locations throughout the property and took advantage of the adult pool, hot tub, beach, fitness center, beach house lobby for reading, fire pit and engaged with other guests. On Wednesday there was a complimentary cocktail hour in the Beach house lobby and the Resort management team mingled with the guests. We dined at Kimball's Kitchen -- food was exceptional and the decor had a sophistication that rivaled fine restaurants in the Boston and Philadelphia area. We took in a magnificant sunset from our table that had a panoramic view of the sound. Other touches that are worth mentioning -- rich bold coffee every morning, iced water with lemons, bowls filled with apples, turn down service, beach chairs and umbrella set up, small microwave and refrigerator in room. It seems to me that the Sanderling has found the winning formula for making guest feel pampered in an non-effusive manner. My husband agreed that this resort is well worth the cost and we will be returning.

Room Tip: We were satisfied with our room in the South building on the second floor oceanside. While we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

What a nice compliment to be the most enjoyable vacation you have had. Thank you! We will share that with our team. Glad you got to enjoy the Resort amenities and quaint Town of Duck. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family had a great vacation at the Sanderling Resort. The location, pools, restaurants and room were all wonderful. The staff everywhere on this property was top notch and made sure we had a great experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMCFEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Our entire resort team looks forward to your return. We are glad you had a great stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family of four visited the Outer Banks in July 2014. After much research and reading many reviews, including Fodor's (not a Fodor's Choice), TripAdvisor and the Southern Living Hotel Collection, we decided to stay at the Sanderling Resort and Spa in Duck, North Carolina. We were a little concerned about their cancellation policy and the price point, so we did not book a room until we toured the property. I called the night before we arrived and the staff was extremely gracious to hold a room for us to see.

We immediately fell in love with the atmosphere and the geniune kindness that was shown to our girls. The property is very nice and well maintained. The resort has two pools: one for adults only and one for families. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The resort also has an exercise facility. The rooms were simple with large bathrooms. However at this price point, I would expect a nicer room but I assume we were paying for the resort and the location on the beach. The beaches were beautiful, the breeze was perfect, however the water was frigid!! The pools were adequate nothing outstanding. The town of Duck is extremely quaint with a couple of nice restaurants. We only ate at the resort for lunch which was good. We enjoyed our stay at the Sanderling and especially enjoyed walking on the beach at night with our girls looking for crabs with flashlights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildcat_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for giving us a chance. We are glad your family has many happy memories of their time in the OBX. Hopefully you feel more confident booking with us for your next OBX vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned home from our sons wedding at the Sanderling. While the wedding was beautiful and so is the resort, unfortunately, some of the cleaning staff was not as beautiful.

When we arrived and got our keys to the Griggs house, it looked great on the surface. We then tried to get into bed for a nap and found cat hair all over the sheets. The front desk sent people to come change the sheets and bring back the originals the next day.

That's when we ran into the bigger issue. When we went out and checked our purses, we noticed that some money was missing. No jewelry was taken and not all the cash, but a significant amount nonetheless. We reported this to the people in charge who were very nice but unable to help. The staff was questioned but nothing was admitted. That put a damper on a very special week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DP0476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We enjoyed having your families special time at the resort. We are glad your wedding party enjoyed the homes as part of the weekend celebration. We have done a thorough investigation of the claim and have not found this to be linked to our team. They do go into the home in pairs and in most instances towel exchange which would be the only daily service was done at the door. These are hard keys to the homes and not in circulation for tight controls. We suggested the best course of action would be to call Duck Police and still feel that would be the best option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We, a family of 5 visited over Memorial Day. Hotel and facilities are of very high standard and very clean, service generally very friendly and good ( except our first morning's breakfast service which was excruciatingly low). Beach is beautiful. Firepits at night provide great entertainment for the kids. We had asked for a late check out on our last day until 3 pm which we got charged for 200$. It was expensive but at least we were able to enjoy the beach for longer.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank drapj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for visiting with us over the holiday weekend. We are glad you could enjoy the beach and all the other amenities. Typically the water is warm enough by Memorial Day. Sorry for the slow breakfast service (and thank you for letting us know). We hope the family will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here while on a whirlwind wedding venue tour earlier this summer. While we didn't ultimately choose Sanderling, it was a great place and we will definitely come back for a visit. Located in beautiful, laid-back Duck, Sanderling offers the best of the Sound and the Ocean. The beaches are beautiful and open, the grounds are comfortable and luxurious and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

The only downside is value. we paid $400/night for a ground-floor room facing the parking lot. The bed was somewhat comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but certainly not what I expect at that price point.

I would definitely go back to the Sanderling, but probably not until I can save up enough for an ocean view room :)

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for a second floor or ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Congratulations on your engagement. Sorry we were not selected but wish you all the best during this exciting time. Our price points do change throughout the year so please sign up for our emails and hopefully you can come enjoy an oceanview room in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,639 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $147 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing