We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for OBX”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here while on a whirlwind wedding venue tour earlier this summer. While we didn't ultimately choose Sanderling, it was a great place and we will definitely come back for a visit. Located in beautiful, laid-back Duck, Sanderling offers the best of the Sound and the Ocean. The beaches are beautiful and open, the grounds are comfortable and luxurious and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

The only downside is value. we paid $400/night for a ground-floor room facing the parking lot. The bed was somewhat comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but certainly not what I expect at that price point.

I would definitely go back to the Sanderling, but probably not until I can save up enough for an ocean view room :)

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for a second floor or ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Congratulations on your engagement. Sorry we were not selected but wish you all the best during this exciting time. Our price points do change throughout the year so please sign up for our emails and hopefully you can come enjoy an oceanview room in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Sanderling Resort. We loved the casual atmosphere it was so relaxing. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were great with a large bathroom. The beach is so close and the pool was a great place to relax. The restaurants on the property were all wonderful. Great place! We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your family getaway on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to the Sanderling for a long weekend over July 4th. Unfortunately, our trip was compressed because of Hurricane Arthur (our flight was canceled) and we could not make it down until a day and a half later. When we called the Sanderling mgmt staff, we were met with utter rigidity and absolutely no flexibility about date changes / refunds. This to us seemed really unreasonable given the circumstances! To boot, when we were due to check out we had asked for a 2 hour extension for check-out and also received push back from the staff. It would have been nice for the hotel to work with us on our dates or offer a reduced rate / free meals, etc. But we got absolutely nothing!

Other than that, the resort is lovely and the staff are great. Would highly recommend staying here but would caution guests that the hotel management is not very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. We wish we could extend and accommodate all early arrival and late check out requests and they are handled on a case by case basis. In your case, you were given until 1pm which is 2 hours past our normal 11am check out however we had a guest arriving into that room and were not able to extend it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived a day earlier than our house was available. Nancy was wonderfully accommodating and found us rooms for ten of us in 10 minutes. We loved the resort - nice upscale but casual decor - instantly comfortable and relaxed. The pools and fire pits were great fun for all - lovely day on the beach. Had a great dinner at the Light Saving Station, we were served by a great waiter who had worked there for twenty years (so nice to hear)
Cannot wait to come back for a longer stay, without the kids !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiegirlsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

So glad you discovered us and next time can plan to come early to spend time here. The Lifesaving Station (Kimball's and Spa at Sanderling) are always open to visitors, locals and hotel guests so plan to have the entire family dine again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Seeking an escape with a chance to relax and do as we may, we fortunately discovered Sanderling Resort. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, we were made to feel special by the most hospitable staff we've ever encountered during our travels! The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, the balcony relaxing and the bathroom and shower even had the same fittings we chose for our own home! The amenities were well chosen and abundant; rolled towels on the chaise by the serenity pool, placement of beach chairs and umbrellas at your choosing, comfortable seating with vistas throughout the property, S'mores on the fire pit at night, unlimited morning coffee and juice overlooking the lobby, a clean well appointed fitness center for workouts, casual and fine dining on the grounds, cornhole games and a bocce ball court for play, and the list goes on and on. We found no needs and had no worries. All said and done, once you arrive, there's no need to leave the premises for anything! The result, total relaxation!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Avig8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We are so glad you were able to unwind and really enjoy your vacation. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first time at the Sanderling and we will be back! From the beautiful resort, to the first class customer service, the Sanderling did not disappoint. We were in a new room on the Sound Side and it was lovely. The room was furnished beautifully and it was so quiet. We had a private deck where we watched the sunset nightly. The only MINOR issue was the room was so bright. The mornings came quickly, at at 5am you thought it was noon. A pair of blackout curtains would easily fix this small flaw, or a pair of blinds in addition to the crisp white curtain. As I mentioned, the customer service was top notch. Simply pick up the phone, dial 0, and ask for beach chairs and an umbrella and they will be waiting for you on the beach! The adult-only tranquility pool was wonderful, and the food at the Sandbar was great too. Try the crab cake sandwich and the Frozen Sandbar! We are already looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vacation and are looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in June 2014. The resort is very relaxing and peaceful. I would recommend this resort and would return!

ROOM: We stayed in an Oceanside king room on the second floor overlooking the tranquility pool, and even though the room was on a slight angle to the beach, we could still see a tiny bit of ocean from the balcony. The only complaint we had about the room was that they gave us a handicapped room. We did not know this until we arrived in the room and we immediately called to change rooms; however the front desk could not accommodate our request because they "were booked." We are both tall people and the handicapped closet rack is set low, so my dress and anything long I hung draped on the floor. There was also an inconvenient mini ramp from the room out to the balcony. The bathroom had handicapped bars around the toilet and only one sink, NOT a double vanity. NO BATH TUB, just a handicapped shower. The bathroom was spacious, though. The rest of the room was standard. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Nightly turn-down service was a nice touch, but not necessary, though they did give us two saltwater taffy candies and a card with the weather for the next day.

RESORT: The resort itself was very nice. The employees were friendly, helpful, and attentive. They gave great recommendations for dinner restaurants and places to visit in the area. At night the fire pits were lit and our room came with a complimentary Smores kit to use!

POOL: They have two pool areas. One for families with children and one for adults only (The Tranquility Pool). The Tranquility Pool (NO LIFEGUARD) also has a large hot tub! It was never really overcrowded and we always found lounge chairs. We did not visit the other pool area.

POOL BAR/RESTAURANT: This is an outdoor area centrally located between both pools. They have tables and a bar. The food and drinks are expensive, and I think they should have more appetizer items since it mainly caters to the poolside guests. They have take-out for the beach-goers and the resort also has an expensive picnic basket lunch package you can pre-order. The following food/drinks I tried were all good: watermelon salad, flatbread pizza, salsa and chips, cheese burger, Mother Earth beer, pina colada. Example: Two beers and a flatbread with tip came close to $45.

BEACH: The beach is private and beautiful. The sand is fine and clean. The attendants will set up your chairs and umbrella without soliciting tips. There is NO LIFEGUARD. Another note of caution: I did have a black widow spider crawl on my arm while laying on the sand! No bite, but definitely scary! At night, we found that guests go out on the beach with flashlights to see the ghost crabs. We did not get the chance to do this. Most days we were vacationing were too windy on the beach and we stayed at the pool instead.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms overlooking the Tranquility Pool is very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your week visit with us. I can imagine how scary seeing a black widow would be ...luckily it's not a common occurrence. Glad you got to enjoy many of the amenities and services we offer. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,639 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $147 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing