We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$318
$284
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$174
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$183
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$142
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveler rating
755
227
87
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
227
87
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslifesaving stationfire pitthe life saving stationfamily poolbeach housethe outer bankssand barkimball's kitchentranquility poolnorth wingadult poolturn down serviceblue pointchairs and umbrellass'mores kitoff seasonmain building
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first time at the Sanderling and we will be back! From the beautiful resort, to the first class customer service, the Sanderling did not disappoint. We were in a new room on the Sound Side and it was lovely. The room was furnished beautifully and it was so quiet. We had a private deck where we watched the sunset nightly. The only MINOR issue was the room was so bright. The mornings came quickly, at at 5am you thought it was noon. A pair of blackout curtains would easily fix this small flaw, or a pair of blinds in addition to the crisp white curtain. As I mentioned, the customer service was top notch. Simply pick up the phone, dial 0, and ask for beach chairs and an umbrella and they will be waiting for you on the beach! The adult-only tranquility pool was wonderful, and the food at the Sandbar was great too. Try the crab cake sandwich and the Frozen Sandbar! We are already looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are very quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vacation and are looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in June 2014. The resort is very relaxing and peaceful. I would recommend this resort and would return!

ROOM: We stayed in an Oceanside king room on the second floor overlooking the tranquility pool, and even though the room was on a slight angle to the beach, we could still see a tiny bit of ocean from the balcony. The only complaint we had about the room was that they gave us a handicapped room. We did not know this until we arrived in the room and we immediately called to change rooms; however the front desk could not accommodate our request because they "were booked." We are both tall people and the handicapped closet rack is set low, so my dress and anything long I hung draped on the floor. There was also an inconvenient mini ramp from the room out to the balcony. The bathroom had handicapped bars around the toilet and only one sink, NOT a double vanity. NO BATH TUB, just a handicapped shower. The bathroom was spacious, though. The rest of the room was standard. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Nightly turn-down service was a nice touch, but not necessary, though they did give us two saltwater taffy candies and a card with the weather for the next day.

RESORT: The resort itself was very nice. The employees were friendly, helpful, and attentive. They gave great recommendations for dinner restaurants and places to visit in the area. At night the fire pits were lit and our room came with a complimentary Smores kit to use!

POOL: They have two pool areas. One for families with children and one for adults only (The Tranquility Pool). The Tranquility Pool (NO LIFEGUARD) also has a large hot tub! It was never really overcrowded and we always found lounge chairs. We did not visit the other pool area.

POOL BAR/RESTAURANT: This is an outdoor area centrally located between both pools. They have tables and a bar. The food and drinks are expensive, and I think they should have more appetizer items since it mainly caters to the poolside guests. They have take-out for the beach-goers and the resort also has an expensive picnic basket lunch package you can pre-order. The following food/drinks I tried were all good: watermelon salad, flatbread pizza, salsa and chips, cheese burger, Mother Earth beer, pina colada. Example: Two beers and a flatbread with tip came close to $45.

BEACH: The beach is private and beautiful. The sand is fine and clean. The attendants will set up your chairs and umbrella without soliciting tips. There is NO LIFEGUARD. Another note of caution: I did have a black widow spider crawl on my arm while laying on the sand! No bite, but definitely scary! At night, we found that guests go out on the beach with flashlights to see the ghost crabs. We did not get the chance to do this. Most days we were vacationing were too windy on the beach and we stayed at the pool instead.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms overlooking the Tranquility Pool is very peaceful and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your week visit with us. I can imagine how scary seeing a black widow would be ...luckily it's not a common occurrence. Glad you got to enjoy many of the amenities and services we offer. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Sanderling resort was our first stay in the Outer Banks, and we loved our relaxing days. The property is situated perfectly on a narrow part of the land, being able to see both the Atlantic and the Sound. Our room was in the North Wing and was more than enough room for the 2 of us. The furnishings were top drawer, and the bathroom layout was terrific. We appreciated that we didn't have to pay extra for beach chairs and umbrellas, and the cheerful staff that helped us get set up on the beach. All the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattleadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and found the Sanderling to be an ideal location for you. Thank you for recognizing our staff and we will share your comments with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drover here for the long-weekend to relax after hearing great reviews.
Our room was clean and the sheets were clean and white.
There was very little walking required to reach the ocean which was very convienient.
The only con was the you had to cross the street in order to get to the swimming pool and spa.
We will definetly come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We are so glad you will visit us again. Thank you for being our guest.
Note to future travelers: The indoor pool is across the street with the spa (on the Sound). The two outdoor pools are on the same side of the street as the guestrooms (on the Oceanside).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

No cancellations, refunds, credits or even changes to a reservation once you are within 16 (that's Sixteen) days of arrival. Never seen a hotel with such a policy. I won't risk exposing myself to such a policy again. It's not necessary when there are so many good hotels with more reasonable 7 day policies.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mmurray63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

We are sorry that you do not agree with our cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is similar to others in a destination location and within our competitive set for non-branded properties. It is clearly stated on our website, confirmations and verbally explained at the time of taking the deposit information. Travelers to the Outer Banks find that most accommodations are vacation rentals and 30 days minimum for cancellation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews