We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great October Getaway at the Sanderling”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful if too brief respite at The Sanderling (Duck, NC) during the second week of October. While rooms at the inn fetch top dollar even during the off season for an ocean resort area, overall the experience justified the cost. The Sanderling is located right on the oceanfront a few miles north of Duck. Our room faced the Currituck Sound and had a nice size porch overlooking the sound. The room itself was generously sized and had very nice accompaniments, including a bar with sink, refrigerator, and microwave. Add to that an HD large screen LCD/TV, high speed internet, a nice restaurant. and a short few steps to the beach. What more could one ask for? It's a great vacation spot and the weather was perfect (mid-70s to low 80s) during our stay. We enjoyed spectacular sunsets over the sound and full moon rises over the Atlantic. October is a great time of year to visit Sanderling if you don't have school-age children. It's quiet and there's very little of the traffic that we've experienced on the Outer Banks during peak season.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

I will preface this review by saying that my boyfriend and I truly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Sanderling. Beautiful beaches, great room (South Inn ocean view), and loved loved loved our little patio overlooking the water.

But I have to agree with other reviews regarding staff and service:
We had reserved a room in the Main Inn, and upon arrival we were placed in the South room, which wasn't even ready for us. Front desk seemd like high schoolers not yet trained for job, but it was already August. Killed some time at Lifesaving Station(dinner-ish time)- wasn't the best. Later on we ordered room service and no joke the caesar salad was a hulk of lettuce not yet broken up, one huge crouton, and a chicken breast. So it was "make your own salad" for twenty bucks. The kid who delivered it didn't know how to open our bottle of wine and broke the cork. Just very awkward overall. Had a massage at the spa, I've had much better elsewhere.

So I agree with prior reviewer to just treat this like your own apartment, and get everything you need yourself. Just enjoy the great beaches, large rooms, GREAT food at Blue Point (make reservation well in advance!)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules_brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My husband and I heard much about the Outer Banks of NC - being from Massachusetts we often frequent Cape Cod and heard that the Outer Banks was very much like the Cape Cod we both knew when we were young - which intrigued us and prompted our visit to the Sanderling.

We drove from MA spending the first night in Ocean City, and continued on day 2 to the Sanderling.

From check-in to check-out, we found the staff to be extremely polite, accommodating and eager to make our experience a memorable one. We had 2 breakfasts and 1 supper at the Life Station restaurant. The breakfasts were delicious (if you're an oatmeal fan, try the simmered steel cut oats, you won't be disappointed). Supper was good, but portions were small - we ventured out to the Blue Point and the Roadside Raw Bar (both in Duck) which were both outstanding (if at the Roadside try the Roasted Vegetables with Grilled Shrimp and Risotto Cake - one of the best dishes I've ever had).

As for our room, we booked a limited sound view and received a 2nd floor room in the North wing overlooking the man-made fountain and some lush foliage. The fountain muffled the street noise, and was shut off each evening in order not to disturb sleep. The patio was wonderful - it was private enough to sit out and read without seeing anyone. The view of the sound was beautifully tranquil. The patio also had a small rack to dry bathing suits (a very nice touch). The bathroom had a fabulous walk-in shower (big enough to comfortably fit 2) and was spotless. The bed was a comfortable king size bed.

Upon arriving, we decided to go to the ocean to take a swim. We walked the corridor of the North Inn, and opened the far door. There, to our surprise, was a gazebo with stairs leading to a deck overlooking the ocean. On the deck were lawn chairs and beach umbrellas. The waves were spectacular, the water temperature perfect and the body surfing was grand.

We drove to Corolla ( a 10 mile drive) and took our pickup out on the beach - what a great experience ~ the pool man at the hotel told me there was 17 miles of beach to drive on reaching all the way to Virginia. We also tried to walk the Audabon Trail which is accessed from the Pool parking lot, but it was too HOT! Only made it one mile out and back, but saw rabbits, cranes and deer.

Overall, a truly spectacular experience! We'll definitely make this a regular stop on our vacation itinerary!

Thank you all at the Sanderling!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MeandMyHubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just came back from Labor Day W/E and really enjoyed our stay at the Sanderling. We were new to the Outer Banks, and this was a great introduction. It's not for the budget minded, but it is a nice nice property, with comfortable rooms. Complimentary coffee in the mornings, and tea and cookies in the afternoon. The beach is great, as was the yoga class in the spa across the street. (The main Duck Road separates the hotel from the spa, tennis courts, and the outdoor pool. It is a busy road, and can be a bit like jaywalking in NYC).

The fitness center was a bit small,and fortunately, you get free access to the larger Pine Creek fitness center three miles up the road. My kids had no trouble getting onto the internet on their macs, but I had some problem with my pc - it might have been my wireless card. The service was great, and they did a great job cleaning up the rooms. Can't complain about anything. The Life Station had some good food for lunch and breakfast ($12 breakfast buffet). We didn't try the Left Bank.

A previous poster's recommendation to try to get a South Inn, 3rd floor room was right on - great room with clear view of ocean and sound of breaking waves.

My whole family enjoyed a relaxing stay. It was a good launching point to see the Wright Memorial and Jockey Ridge Dunes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kiki1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iadoreaudreyhepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
96
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heinrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,629 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $146 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing