We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace of Mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace of Mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful view excellent service with no effort! Don't let this pass by! Had a little challenge with the ac. But they worked it out! Beautiful
sunset and great food at life station! Check out the bourbon drink that Mark recommends! The tuna steak was to die for! Indoor pool fitness center and the beach was great! You won't regret the visit they do all the work. Safe friendly atmosphere even for kids! But quiet enough for those who are beyond that stage. Always wanted to stay here finally achieved that goal add this to your bucket list!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We apologize for the air conditioning inconveniences. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to future opportunities. The chef will be pleased to prepare you some more tuna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    199
    78
    19
    12
See reviews for
212
537
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here for several days in March, absolutely gorgeous, clean facility! I had also purchased the room based on "Buy one night, get the next night 50% off" that I found while browsing on TripAdvisor... This place was amazing and tranquil and perfect for the two of us! Free coffee and two amazing restaurant on site!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cprather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
So glad you found us. It's a great time to be here and some great promos we can offer during that time of year. Glad you enjoyed the dining and relaxation. Hope we will be considered for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 day weekend and just left. I have to say this place was so nice! We got the breakfast included in our stay and it was worth it. The life saving station was very nice and clean. Dinner there was just not for us, not our taste. But the staff was very friendly and helped with suggestions on where to eat. From the moment we arrived Nacy made us fell right at home. We did go over to the spa and I got a pedicure which Britney is wonderful and talkative which was nice! I wish we would have known to book a massage earlier though because they were already full, next time though! We enjoyed our stay here very much! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmk724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share with others. We definitely want you to have that massage next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days at this resort. The property is beautiful and very peaceful. This was a great choice for a little R&R. We enjoyed the hot tub and fire pit. We also sat on the beach and enjoyed all the birds. Truly magnificent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmyinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
All the things we as locals love about the off-season as well. So glad you got to enjoy our little slice of heaven. Look forward to your return next time you need some R & R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked a couple of nights here as a pit stop on my way home from a business trip. So happy I did. The R&R here is superb...very quiet, top notch amenities and guest rooms, and great beach. I will be back next time I need a retreat like this.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a third level ocean view room. The tranquility is priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Maybe every business trip can end with a few days with us :) We are glad you were able to relax and enjoy. It's beautiful (and peaceful) here this time of year. We look forward to the next time you can join us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently spent a few days at the beautiful Sanderling resort, and have never felt so well taken care of.. From the moment we checked in, until regretfully checking out.. The front desk staff, Ashley and Jeff, were so friendly, gracious, and helpful..They made sure all our requests were met. The public areas had all recently be redone, and results were a traditional,beach, easy vibe, with neutral calm colors.. Our room was located in the south building, facing the beautiful sand dunes and overlooking the south pool and ocean. ..Our room was also very comfortable with a beautiful, spacious bathroom, and a roomy walk in shower. Because it was off season, the resort was very quiet and relaxing, exactly what we had hoped for..Walking out of the resort you are just steps from the beach, you can relax at the fire pit, or just sit and watch the waves.. I would highly recommend The Sanderling, and look forward to staying there again...

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor give you the best ocean view, over the high dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are so glad you were able to enjoy the peaceful Outer Banks during the shoulder season. Thank you for your compliments on our staff which I have passed along. We hope you will be able to return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Sanderlling sits in between the Atlantic Ocean and the Sound. Cedar shake, white trim, rockers on the porches, a smores fire pit, pool , hot tub, bocce court as well as a good quality restaurant on site make this the place to unplug and unwind. I pod dock as well as alarm clock combo mean you can plug in. There are no extra outlets beyond the norm so you will not have technology drowning you but your needs are met. No coffee pots in room but plenty of this and tea in the sitting areas by 7am. Free Wi-Fi on premises means you can take your ipad to the dune and video the sunrise as it come up. The South Wing has great kings with a seating area and good sized bathroom. Some rooms with have tubs. The center of the resort houses a lovely second story seating area inside with sound as well as ocean view. Do not miss Stacey at the lobby bar as she is a mainstay! She is just the tip of the iceberg on staff. I will expand on that. The North Wing houses some nice adjoining rooms. All Sanderling rooms have outside balconies or seating areas! So how are you unplugged? Listen, you will see no blaring t.v.'s in the lobby. You will hear quiet conversation, seagulls, ocean, and lack of noise unless you have your ear buds in. It is a nice quiet with no white noise from the workfront. Every vacationer I encountered was happy and friendly! Why here? You will not find a continental breakfast in the lobby. Coffee and nice apples and you will not miss it because the restaurant on site has all you need and the staff and meals are wonderful. You also can venture literally 5 min away to Duck Village or Corolla for a bite if you would like. My room was clean, beds were beyond cozy with 4 pillows on each. The staff is what makes this nice. New Pavillion as well as spa services are literally across the street. Try the Spa and unwind. The owners need to know their staff makes this resort. Have a complaint? They address and do their best to accommodate. I never saw anyone without a smile. They always worked to use my name, make helpful suggestions, and when visiting, that is what you want! I saw the review concerning cleanliness. Any time you see that bear in mind season but I am sure management read this also and walks the property. If you have a group coming in, there is also a banquet area at the top of the restaurant with sound views. Kitty Hawk Kites and Corolla have a presence on site for paddle board, surf, hang gliding , wild horse tours etc. They are there in season until end of Oct. I read also concerning turn down service etc. For the price you have to mention that. I would like to thank Ashley, Matt, Stacey, and the staff for another great stay! The improvements just add to the property.

Room Tip: families, try the North wing for adjoining rooms. Singles/Couples North is great and I had no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brsla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We so love your review....unplugged! That is such a great way to approach an off-season stay on the Outer Banks. We actually just created a package called "Digital Detox" to help folks do exactly what you recommend. Thanks for all the great suggestions for other travelers. Come see us again when you need a getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Property: Sanderling Resort
Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing