We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at Sanderling and loved it. The two restaurants across the street, one owned by the restaurant and the other private, were excellent! Walking to dinner was great. The Lifesaving restaurant provided a wonderfully generous breakfast, but slow service. Our room was beautiful. It was on the North side, at the far end, so the noise from the youngsters was not too loud. At night, they were in bed. Couples should request the south side for more quiet times. All in all, though, it was very relaxing and beautifully renovated, and the staff exhibited true southern charm.

Room Tip: If you want to be at the bar and with all activity, the beach house is good. If you want quiet rela...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenM829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to the renovated Sanderling. We are glad you enjoyed it and found it relaxing. Great room tips to assist others when making a selection. We recommend calling our reservation team as well if you have specific questions related to room types and their locations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 986 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I made a return visit to the Sanderling this week after learning of a "major" renovation. Our last trip here two years ago was nice, so we figured this one would be even better. Wrong. The facelift covered only the lobby and pool areas--all other areas looked half finished--old number plaques still on doorways, etc. and the service was terrible. No one to offer cushions at the pool, and when you could get help you also got attitude. Today, the weather has been overcast, so the outdoor bar and lunch area is closed. We were told we could order from the Life Saving Station on property but then were asked to walk there ourselves because if we were in front of them they'd be faster. We walked there and were told we'd have to come back to pick up two cold sandwiches in 45 min. It really is unfortunate that poor management and a seasonal service staff will keep this "resort" from being the truly wonderful place it could be. The bright spots for us, a beautiful location and an extremely personable and attentive housecleaning lead in Bernadette.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your time to help us improve...especially while you are still on property. This gives us the opportunity to hopefully make your stay more enjoyable. Indeed the weather has been very unpredictable and at times we have to make a weather call related to what we are seeing on the radar for the day. We had several heavy downpours but based on your feedback we did attempt to open it the next day to not further disappoint but again had 3 -4 unwelcomed rain showers. We will research further the take out concerns and apologize for that. We are very fortunate that most of our seasonal service staff have been with us now for 4+ years and I will pass on the compliment to Bernadette in housekeeping. We hope the rest of your stay was delightful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can't say enough amazing things about The Sanderling Inn in OBX. From the property, to the staff, to the rooms, everything was first class from the moment we got there. We heard nothing but great things about staying there so we decided to try it out. The renovations were stunning and made it 10 times better. We had dinner at Kimballs Kitchen and it was by far the best meal we have had. Not only was the food to die for but the views are spectacular. The Lifesaving Station was perfection as well. We had an ocean side room on the first floor and it was very peaceful and private. We got engaged on our private balcony with the waves crashing in the background and it was an amazing place to spend our special moment that we will never forget. We will defiantly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

CONGRATULATIONS! How exciting that your memory of the Outer Banks and Sanderling Resort was your engagement! We are glad you enjoyed the dining options on property and found the room to be peaceful and romantic. We look forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sanderling Resort in mid June. We had never stayed in Duck and took a chance on The Sanderling based on reviews from this site. From the time we walked in we were greeted by generous, smiling staff. We stayed in an oceanfront premium King room. The view was amazing. We stayed in an end unit and there were 10 windows all containing a view of the ocean. The room was well maintained and attractively decorated and the bed was very comfortable. There is turn down service each evening that leaves a salt water taffy treat. We had dinner our first evening at the Life Saving Station on the property. The prices were a bit high, but once we saw the portion size and tasted the food we were impressed. We also ordered breakfast room service from this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Every morning the staff set up our chairs and umbrellas on the beach. There are also bike, surf, and paddle board rentals on the property. We also utilized the adult only tranquility pool on a daily basis. There is another pool for families with children, as well as two fire pits that are lit weather permitting each evening. We were most impressed with the Sandbar Grill located on the property. Such a convienence for a quick bite or drinks, they even deliver carry out to the pool and beach! The property is well maintained and the staff impeccably dressed in their orange, white, and khaki uniforms. My husband and I felt as though we were at a Carribean resort. We rarely felt the need to leave the property. Miles of private beach are at your doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sanderling.

Room Tip: Corner oceanfront Premium King Rooms on the third floor offer the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are so glad you learned about us and gave us a try. We appreciate you coming back to Tripadvisor where you gained confidence to book us so you could provide a testimonial to others. From your comments, it appears you took it all in to really enjoy the amenities, dining and activities. Hopefully a future getaway will include Sanderling Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The original family that owned Sanderling (two owners ago) created an amazing, comfortable, peaceful option for a stay in Duck. We stayed there almost every year for about 12 years in the South Inn, Room 808 - the owner's suite. Staff always knew your name and welcomed you back. There were warm muffins in the morning and afternoon tea in the Main Inn. I can remember wishing for some resort amenities like a pool and bar service and beach service. Well, my wish came true and with that "be careful for what you wish". The new owners have updated the facility with everything you could want in resort amenities. Many compromises were made however, including the destruction of the beautiful open lobby area of the South Inn in the name of money; it's been turned into a room. Visitors now are no longer conservative lovely older couples and families but bridal parties and girls weekends and families with rude children. Well it's clean and new but no longer the Sanderling Inn we loved for so many years.

Room Tip: Choose South Inn, 3rd floor, oceanfront for a quieter more peaceful stay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntingtongalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. I'm sorry that we missed the mark. We are glad that you enjoyed the new amenities that you were hoping for in the past. The Sanderling had one owner in his 27 years until last May when purchased by the new owners who put careful consideration into the renovations and using guest input. One of those areas was the Grand Gallery in the Beach House which was left intact to enjoy the sunrise and sunset views and relaxing for reading, sitting by the fireplace and socializing. We even expanded that outside deck to allow for more outside seating opportunities. The South Inn had two lobby areas of which the second floor was rarely used and the downstairs lobby remains the same. While our market mix does change based on the time of year the guests and their purposes for visiting have not changed. We welcome couples, families, bridal parties and family reunion/getaways. We do offer morning coffee in each of the Wings daily and the Beach House bar serves morning pastries. (The breakfast basket program which was included in the room rate was discontinued six years ago by the previous owners.) We hope you will still consider another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights using the Buy 3, Get 1 night free special to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a poolside king room in the north building, the furthest from the main building, which opened to the family resort pool. We had requested to be in the south building, but could not be accommodated. We actually love children, so having them around was not a bother, but I have to say while I understand the need to have the pool alarm, it was quite an annoyance for two adults. We set it off every time we opened the door and we could not keep our door open to enjoy hearing the ocean.

The room itself was very nice and very, very clean, but did not have the amenities you would expect for the price if you were to pay full price. Small fridge. Nice bathroom and shower, comfortable bed. Nothing elaborate but very comfortable. Was it worth the price? The location of the resort is awesome, so that is really what you are paying for.

The beach access was convenient and having someone set up our chairs and umbrella was the best part of the stay. The beach is unsurpassed and it is why we come to the Outer Banks every year. We usually stay a little further south, but this trip has me sold on the Duck beaches. Gorgeous in every way.

The pools and hot tubs were amazing. The adult pool was so quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing.

We had two drinks at the Sandbar, which was very nice but VERY expensive. $36 with tip for two drinks in plastic cups.

Overall, the Sanderling is a very nice resort. We would definitely return and hope to be near the adult pool the next time.

Room Tip: Be aware the poolside rooms in the North building by the family all have pool alarms and have direct...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRN1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Happy 25th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a milestone. Because the rooms open right into a pool area we are required to do certain things. We know the door alarms are not ideal and we are looking at other options that would be just as safe for those staying in those accommodations. We look forward to your return and while the beach is public the fact there are no public accesses close to the resort and we have beach bell service indeed makes it a unique experience. Suggestion - We do have new poolside tranquility king rooms by the adult pool and by booking that room type you are guaranteed to be in the South Wing since that is the only place they are located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The new Sanderling is definitely an improvement. The increased ocean-view seating off the second floor lobby of the Beach House and the large platform on the dunes are wonderful additions. Very nice adult pool. There is much more activity than in the past and we like the bright openness of the renovated Beach House. The staff is excellent--gracious and helpful. The gift shop, now in the spa, is inconveniently located, particularly for grabbing a needed, small item. Remember, there are no drug stores or places to purchase such, within a fifteen minutes drive. We've been coming for years and do miss the amenities of the past--for instance, afternoon tea and cookies. So some of the charm of the old has given way to flash and dash. The availability of alcohol could present problems for guests seeking a quiet, ocean visit. That was the case with first-timers we met who were kept awake by partying around the fire pit and may not return. Also, we heard the story of one the "investors" who rudely dismissed a guest's suggestion. If you can identify this man, who was on the property in mid-May, he needs a lesson in hospitality. True, it's not 1K a night, but neither is the Greenbrier. The Life Saving Station looks good and opening up the sound-side of 5 1/2 was a great improvement.

Room Tip: When guests refer to the "view of the parking lot," we wonder if they cannot see beyond--t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are glad you decided to return to experience the new Sanderling. We appreciate your feedback and it will only assist us moving forward. The firepit will be turned off every night at 10pm. We do respect and want every guest to get a good night's rest. I'm afraid that some hearsay may be taken out of context and our investors have been very active listeners during the process and wanting to provide services and amenities that the guests want. We also perserved some of the things that we heard/knew were important to what made Sanderling special. We love your room tip and indeed those sunsets are fantastic!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
16.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $208 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing