We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the beach”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose this inn for our stopin the northern area of the Outer Banks. It was a very good choice.

We had a room facing the front of the hotel, which would be a sound view, if the view was not obstructed. We did like our balcony view which looked over a fountain pond.

PROS: beautiful room, comfy bed, huge shower, chairs for sitting, fridge and table. The hotel provides chairs for the beach and will set up an umbrella for you as well. There is turn-down service and an urn of coffee in a common area each morning. The fabulous beach is right out the back door. I'be never been more impressed by a hotel staff.

Cons: there are several buildings: one is the hotel lobby, others are a two-story collection of rooms. The spa is across the highway. A dining room is in another. So you have to walk to eat. This is not usually a problem, but our last day there we experienced a torrential downpour. Be advised! There is no covered walkway.

Despite this we loved the beach access and spent a great deal of time there.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our daughter got married at the Sanderling several weeks ago and it was the most amazing experience. She was married on the beach and the staff at the Sanderling made everything fantastic. We worked with Jessica and she did a fabulous job organizing the wedding and making sure our daughter was getting her dream wedding. She was so helpful in all aspects of the wedding. The reception was held across the street in the Pavillion which is right beside the Spa. The food was excellent and it was a large space and everyone had plenty of room. They set up the reception with incredible service. We worked with a young lady named Heather who did all of our decorations. She did an amazing job and everything was beautiful. The bridesmaids and other friends and family used the Spa services for pedicures and manicures on Friday before the wedding on Saturday. We worked with a wonderful young lady named Ashley. She was wonderful in scheduling our party and making sure everything was just perfect.
We were also so impressed with the front desk service. The ladies were so helpful and made sure the rooms were just as we had asked. Overall, it was an incredible experience and I would recommend The Sanderling for a wedding or just a wonderful weekend get away!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Sanderling for our 1st anniversary and found it to be an amazing getaway resort. I've noticed many of the reviewers are older but we are in our mid-twenties and both enjoyed the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of Duck and the resort was extremely accommodating. We stayed in an oceanfront room and opened the door and windows every night so we could fall asleep and wake up to the ocean. The beach is not crowded at all and there was never any disturbing noises or parties. The Life Saving Station restaurant on the property serves amazing breakfast and dinner as well. I would definitely recommend the Sanderling to anyone wanting a quiet, chill, relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kango24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Everywhere you walk around this resort the staff greets you with a friendly "hello"! The resort was beautiful, located on the beach but close to the sound. Our room was very spacious and was supplied with everything you would need: beach towels were a plus. It is very clean and updated. We enjoyed the Life Saving restaurant which was only a few steps from our building - a perfect dinner for our first night in Duck. The mussels were delicious! We made reservations at the Spa prior to arrival. Concierge sends an email ahead of time to help with arrangements, which I though was a great idea, except the Spa could not accomodate and only sent an email back letting us know. They arranged another day and time but a call would have been better since we were traveling and did not look at email. Room service was late; I'd advise just heading down to the restaurant. Lobbies have Coffee in the mornings and tea in the afternoon. Perfect. Our only suggestions: noise proof the balconies better to avoid loud neighbors.

Room Tip: The views are probably good from all floors. Oceanfront would be my suggestion though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourDestinConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were hiking a couple of days before we arrived at The Sanderling and therefore we really needed a time to relax. The place is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We also tested the Spa and overall we had a very relaxing time.
The only thing is that the Spa and the hotel is a bit more expensive compared to similar facilities.
The food (breakfast and dinner) is very good, though they did not have anything for vegetarians on the menu. They were very flexible in preparing something, but then it never is a really good vegetarian dish.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a fantastic property in Duck, at the upper end of the OB. Rooms are wonderful -- we stayed in a South Inn Ocean Side Suite. Great. I highly recommend this resort. and the restaurant called the LIFE SAVING STATION is also great. (We didn't try the French restaurant). People very responsive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airetime07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had reservations for 3 days with the bed and breakfast option. When we got there we were given 2 breakfast vouchers, but only had the B&B room for 1 night as we were to move to another room for the rest of our stay. When we were to move the next morning our other room wasn't ready as they had placed a guest in the other room during the night who had no reservation. Then the guest did not checkout before the designated time. This caused us to be without a room until it was cleaned which we got later that afternoon. We had left our 1 st room mid-morning as the Sanderling had a convention coming and needed our 1st room. There was some miscommunication as far as us being told we could stay in the first room until the 2nd one was ready. When we checked on the 2nd room we were told that we shouldn't have been given the second breakfast voucher as we no longer had the B&B option with the 2nd room. We were being told one thing and something different was taking place. Communication was lacking. We were given another breakfast voucher due to all the room confusion.

It has been a first class place, but now it needs to be updated. Different areas looked 'tired and worn'. Resort needs to look at renovations for the prices they are asking. Staff was polite. May not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: $195 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing