We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest Grill

Harvest Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: none
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant was very overrated. I expected so much more and was disappointed. The food was bland, the servers where snobby, and the prices were very high. I don't mind paying a lot for a meal if it's good, but this was just below par.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Masters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest G, Manager at Harvest Grill, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
The staff of the Harvest Grill would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience. We strive for excellent service and quality food, and we obviously fell short in your visit. Please allow us another chance, and please ask for a manager so that we can be certain you are well cared for. We would appreciate any additional information you can share about your experience so we can better understand all the areas where we fell short. Thank you for the feedback and the opportunity to address your complaint.

Executive Chef and Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    80
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice complement to winery tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I were early for our 2:00 tour and tasting so we decided to have a leisurely lunch at the Harvest Grill. We were greeted cordially by staff and offered our choice of seating in a dining room that was intimate but yet didn't push you too close to other diners. Menu selections were all tempting, I chose the highly recommended bacon wrapped crab cakes and my wife ordered the chorizo stuffed pork loin each preceded by a cup of delicious tomato bisque.

Although the crab cakes were good, they didn't quite live up to the waitress' claim of being one of the top 100 NC restaurant dishes. My wife enjoyed her pork loin and particularly loved the accompanying sweet potato casserole, but the pork was just a bit dry. This is a measured criticism; undercooked pork can be dangerous, but this particular serving had been in the oven a couple of minutes too long.

We'll give the Harvest Grill another try, perhaps for dinner, but this time the food didn't quite live up to the setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louhodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great surprise for a late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great delight in the middle of a winery in Dobson, NC countryside. Service was personable and the menu selection is extensive. If you like the option of eating outdoors and in the dining room next to the fireplace, this is the place. The chief has unbelievable gifts.

Next time traveling on I-77 thru North Carolina, check out the Harvest Grill. Oh, the views are terrific of the countryside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing but pleasant memories.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love the food and atmosphere here. Go early in the day or call to make reservations so you can sit on the patio with the fireplace lit. Never eaten anything bad here, been going for 7 years for special occasions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upscale restaurant on the grounds of the Shelton Vineyards, not inexpensive but well worth the visit. Reservations are accepted and should be considered to fully enjoy the excellent views of the lovely grounds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Grill also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing