We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back!”

Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would go back!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant was surprising in every way. The building and grounds are fun to explore, but the smell of barbecue will make you hungry even if you are not. Wonderful service and delicious food and a very reasonable bill. We enjoyed every aspect of our experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    62
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thoroughly disappointed”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had heard nothing but good things about this place. However, we went on a Saturday night and were very disappointed. When we approached the window to check in we were ignored by the lady taking names. Finally after recognizing us she was very rude. She told us there would be an hour and a half wait, when we waited approximately two hours before being called! The food was nothing spectacular. The server appeared to be in a hurry, and to top it all off there was a fly in my water!! We will not be going back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Cowgirl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a wonderful supper - if you are willing to wait - the wait is worth it. The service was very friendly and seemed very prompt on everything that did. We enjoyed our food - the price was a little high but was worth it for the food amount and taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemomma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a hidden gem in the woods about a mile and a half north of Charlotte right off I-77. I had never heard of it and found it by word of mouth from a person from the area that we met yesterday. My son and my wife ate there and my son and I both agreed that it was likely the best rib eye steak that we ever put in our mouths and believe me we both have had meals all over the world. My wife's ribs were falling off the bone tender. The grounds are absolutely fantastic with a little general store, a chapel and cabins to rent. We plan on taking our entire family back for a special family time together.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank opaljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very picturesque place and good food reasonably priced. Good sized portions and the service was good. If you try this place you won't be disappointed. It can easily handle large groups too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek also viewed

 

Been to Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing