We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is WOW!”

Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Lake Norman, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a hidden gem in the woods about a mile and a half north of Charlotte right off I-77. I had never heard of it and found it by word of mouth from a person from the area that we met yesterday. My son and my wife ate there and my son and I both agreed that it was likely the best rib eye steak that we ever put in our mouths and believe me we both have had meals all over the world. My wife's ribs were falling off the bone tender. The grounds are absolutely fantastic with a little general store, a chapel and cabins to rent. We plan on taking our entire family back for a special family time together.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank opaljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    62
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very picturesque place and good food reasonably priced. Good sized portions and the service was good. If you try this place you won't be disappointed. It can easily handle large groups too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The wait was 1 1/2 hours. Food was pretty good. I expected it to be a little more like top restaurant food but was more like Cracker Barrel Food but was good. My husbands prime rib was dry and small. The Women's bathroom was very small. 3 stalls and you wait for 5 to 10 minutes. Trash an overflowing and no soap. You bumped into someone when you opened stall door. The grounds were beautiful. Ideal place for wedding in separate area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoyyourlifetothefullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place for a wonderful dinner”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

a 10 minute drive from Mt. Airy and worth the drive. The restaurant is very relaxing and friendly. The bartender was very helpful about what is good on the menu and also interesting tips about the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my Fav's”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love the steaks and the specials. It is very family friendly. This high end of what my family eats out. It is not over priced. very good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldvisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek also viewed

 

Been to Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing