We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Tarboro, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The friendliness of this hotel and winery makes it a pleasant experience. Ed Shelton (the owner) seemed to be everywhere: the hotel, the winery, the restaurant. He always spoke and remembered you...You will not be dissapointed...GUARANTEED!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    111
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
204
318
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
EastCoast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was an upscale Hampton Inn, to say the least. We routinely stop at the Hampton Brand on our travels so were surprised. The hotel is owned by Shelton Vineyards, which is apparently about 2 miles down the road. The hotel “upgrades” are subtle, but very noticeable, including a separate wine bar in a room off the lobby! Our room was spotless and unbelievably quiet, even though I was worried that we were given a room directly behind (and having a shared wall with) the elevators. We had dinner at Carmine’s, a short walk across the parking lot – reasonably priced Italian. Otherwise, the dining choices are limited at this exit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

In my many trips for both business and pleasure, Hampton Inns have always been a favorite. Unfortunately they were not always available at my destination. An excellent managed facility is a decision and I feel that Hampton Inn has done a great job in relaying that concept to their staff and franchisees. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Dobson, NC has become our go to hotel when we are traveling south Hilton Head, SC or other locations further south that may require more than a days driving. Shelton's Vineyard is a nice place to visit after a long day's drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank RushFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice hotel, close to FWY but not noisy. Centrally located if you are going wine tasting. We had a king suite & it was very nice & spacious. The hotel staff was very nice AND professional. Would recommend this hotel when you are in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank sandy60742 T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Exit 93 off Rt. 77 is a perfect place to stop for everything a traveler needs. The Shelton Brothers haven't missed a thing. Wonderful convenience store, lovely Italian restaurant beside the Hampton in that is sooooooooo nice. A wine shoppe in the hotel, sample the lovely Shelton Vineyard wines while you enjoy the outdoor patio. Wonderful customer service throughout the hotel. The Shelton Vineyards are nearby as well as another restaurant with delicious food. A great stop that I've visited several times before and will continue to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We travel often and have stayed in Hampton Inns in all fifty states in the past four years.This is a truly outstanding property.

We were driving from Boston to Florida, it was day two of the trip and we picked Dobson as a good place to stop. Walked into the hotel and were delighted to find a lovely spacious lobby, friendly front desk, and a special wine tasting room (open from 5pm to 10pm).

There is an excellent Italian restaurant just across the parking lot, and the option to take a shuttle to the winery to enjoy a meal in their restaurant.

Do not miss an opportunity to stay here if you are in the area!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobson
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jonesville/Elkin
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yadkin Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Address: 150 Charlestowne Dr, Dobson, NC 27017-9008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Dobson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dobson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson Hotel Dobson
Hampton Inn And Suites Dobson
Hampton Inn Dobson
Hampton Inn Hotel Dobson
Dobson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing