We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List”
Review of Shelton Vineyards

Shelton Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1999 by Brothers Charlie and Ed Shelton, Shelton Vineyards was envisioned as a new agricultural resource for an area once dependent on tobacco farming. Located in the heart of North Carolina's Yadkin Valley, Shelton Vineyards is 180 degrees from any winery you will find on the West Coast. The distinctive characteristics of Shelton wine come from the unique soil and climate of the Yadkin Valley. This helps give Shelton wine an inimitable taste that holds its own against any wine from any area in the world. We invite you to visit us, try our wine and see if you agree that our wine is as unique as the area we are in.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
“Bucket List”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My brother and I were on a Bucket List trip. We stopped by on our way to and from our "list". I was very pleased with the exceptional wines as well as the great service. Good Job!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    72
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing spot...”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Took a spur of the moment day-trip on a beautiful weekend afternoon and could not have had a better experience. The vineyard itself is a very classy facility located on an amazingly beautiful piece of land. The "$5" tour that included a tasting after the tour was a bargain.....But the highlight was enjoying a bottle of wine with my wife, while sitting around the beautiful pond next to the vineyard. A great day trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeel580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped in for a short break while traveling. The grounds are beautiful. We tasted some wines and bought some. The staff was friendly and more than eager to help.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Wine”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The whole purpose of our visit to Dobson, NC was to visit Shelton Vineyards. We got there early and had a personally guided tour and wine tasting by one of the founders. The wine was excellent and we took home a variety case to share with our friends and family. However, they do not have distributor representation in Georgia so any future orders will have to be via the Internet and not retail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest we've visited!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very beautiful facilities!! We tasted the wines and bought a few bottles. Took a bottle and enjoyed it on the back patio and bought a couple of the cheese trays. Gorgeous area!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank baruba_juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelton Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Shelton Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing