We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis off the Freeway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dobson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Dobson B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This was our second time staying with Hanna and Doug. The first time was just by chance as we were travelling south on 77 from Ontario to Florida and we found their listing in the North Carolina travel brochure. What a gem! Only a half hour off the freeway and we found a century and half old house, nestled between and a brook and a vineyard. Charming and relaxing accomodations and down to earth, helpful and honest hosts.

Driving back from Florida this year we made a point of stopping at the place that we often remembered from 4 years previously. The Yadkin Valley area has charmed us. Beautiful countryside and outstanding restaurants in the many vineyards. Again, our stay was excellent. Hannah and Doug mirror the charm of the area, and we felt relaxed as we resumed our trip home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

Hannah and Doug are very gracious hosts. The accomodations were comfortable, the location was perfect, and the food was excellent. We plan on returning later this summer and look forward to being back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I highly recomment this inn/B&B. Hannah and Doug are warm, accomodating people. Hannah's breakfasts are superb and creative. It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. The rooms are warm and welcoming. There are 3 beautiful rooms at the Inn. Hannah and Doug actually live next door, so one pretty much has the run of the inn during the day. There is a fireplace in the living room, so one can cozy up to it with a good book or watch a movie. The inn is a short drive from several excellent wineries, which is why we keep returning to Yadkin Valley. There are also many excellent restaurants. The Rockford Inn frequently has specials and periodically holds Murder Mystery weekends. This inn is a must!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eag610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I just returned from two nights at The Rockford Inn. It is 5:00 pm and I am STILL stuffed from our breakfast at 8:30 this morning!
Hannah and Doug (owners) are perfect for their roles as inn keepers. They are both incredibly friendly, full of helpful information about things to do in the area, provided a delightful breakfast both mornings and keep their inn in fantastic shape. They also have a cute little dog named Floppy (who was not allowed inside; he was hanging out on the back porch).
The inn is an old farmhouse (built 1848) that has always been in Doug's family. There are three rooms. We reserved the largest one, which runs the entire upper floor of the main house. The other two (smaller rooms but all with private baths) are outside the main house but connected by a breezeway (one is upstairs, the other downstairs). Hannah showed us these rooms; they were very nice looking.
Our room (The Vineyard Suite) was quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable. There was a small TV in the room (which we, not being TV watchers, never turned on). Lots of closet space. Outside the room was a sitting area and a fairly large bathroom with a bath/shower combo. One word to the wise; there is a set of very steep stairs to get up to this room so don't book it if you cannot climb steep stairs!
As the other rooms were not booked, we had the house to ourselves. There was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us in our room (great touch) from one of the local wineries. Also, complimentary soda/water snacks (nuts, chocolate, cookies, brownies) in the kitchen.
Breakfast the first morning was fruit and yogurt, an egg casserole, cheese grits, sausage AND bacon and biscuits plus juice and coffee. We did not eat again until 6:00 pm.
This morning's was a Praline French toast casserole with raspberry sauce; sausage and bacon and fruit and yogurt. You definitely will not leave for your day hungry!
As we spent the majority of yesterday wine tasting, this was a very good thing!
One evening we sat out on the back porch and smoked a cigar (no smoking inside, which is good). It was quiet and peaceful; and, we didn't hear much of anything either night.
The inn is central to the wineries and restaurants in the area and it is very easy to get to plus Hannah provided detailed driving instructions.
We'd highly recommend the inn; we'll definitely return and will probably bring friend with us next time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empress5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

People make a place special and this is especially true with Hannah and Doug Holyfield.
They were very warm and hospitable. It was fascinating learning the history of the family homestead and what they have done with the home and property. They also shared their knowledge of the surrounding area, people and wineries. It amazed us how closely knit the community is and how there isn't a competitive spirit among the vinyards-they recommend one another. Hannah and Doug recommended restaurants, as well as other places in the area to visit. All in all it was a very relaxing and enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Rockford Inn is a beautifully restored 1848 home, but not so restored as to take away the charm of an old house. Pine floors, exposed beams, and beautifully decorated, this B & B is wonderfully cozy and inviting. The location is perfect - close proximity to the Yadkin River Wine Trail, a short drive to Mt. Airy, and far enough off of the beaten path to be relaxing and quiet.

Our room was the Blue Ridge Room. This room was very large and had a terrific queen size bed with soft linens and blankets, two very comfortable chairs, a comfortable desk, and plenty of room to relax. The private bathroom had a corner shower. Everything was extremely clean and well-kept - accomodations, grounds, shared lobby, kitchen.

Hannah was incredibly kind and welcoming - from the fudge and drinks that were available when we arrived, the delicious breakfast (french toast, sausage, bacon, fruit bowl, several types of juices, coffee, tea - just TRY to find that at a hotel) as well as being very knowledgeable about the area. Combine all of this with a very affordable rate, and the Rockford Inn seems almost too good to be true.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

The Rockford Inn B&B is absolutely wonderful! The owners take great care of the place, as well as their guests. The guest suites are well-decorated and extremely cozy, and the grounds are very charming. We really enjoyed chatting with the innkeepers and learning about the history of the inn (it's been in the family for generations). We can't wait to get back to that part of the state and stay there again and would absolutely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4872 Rockford Rd, Dobson, NC 27017-7954
Location: United States > North Carolina > Dobson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dobson
Price Range: $119 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards and wineries, and located in the center of the Yadkin Valley Wine Region, step back in time and enjoy the tranquility surrounding the Historic Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast. Our Antebellum house (ca. 1848) situated at the crest of more than 6 rolling acres, will provide you with the simple pleasures and charm of country living while enjoying modern conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing