We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and would recommend in a heartbeat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dobson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Dobson B&B and Inns
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“We loved it and would recommend in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We could not have enjoyed our stay at the Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast any more than we did! It was my first B&B experience and made me a huge fan. Hannah & Doug are amazing hosts. When we arrived, we got a tour of the home and were informed that snacks and drinks would be available to us for our whole stay (including fresh baked brownies!). Breakfasts were unbelievable, better than anything I have ever had. Our room was lovely and we enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope we will have reason to be there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikerkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
114
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this lovely inn for several nights while visiting wineries in the area and kayaking on the Yadkin River--which is just down the road.

The inn is cottage-casual, immaculate, and very welcoming. We felt very at home. Hannah and Doug prepared separate, delicious, gluten-free breakfasts for me. Hannah even made some gluten-free brownies for me one evening! Soda, juice, hot tea, hot chocolate, popcorn, nuts, and candy were always available in the kitchen.

Our room was large, well-lit and we had two comfy reading chairs and a television. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room and bathroom both were immaculate.

The deck on the back overlooked their vineyard. I found it very relaxing to sit out there in the evening and listen to the crickets. I did not get a chance to sit on the front porch--I will have to do that next time!

It's obvious that Hannah and Doug have worked very hard to make this inn a special place. This inn is very comfortable and lovely and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ways2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Rockford Inn was a great find. The location was excellent and centrally located to many wineries. We enjoyed a warm welcome from Hannah the Inn Keeper. She was very helpful with recommendations to local wineries, restaurants, and things to do. She also made a spectacular breakfast! This is definitely a place I would love to return to.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella01_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The setting is perfect for so many reasons - close to the Yadkin Valley Wineries, beautiful, quiet countryside and ahome that has been beautifully restored. The owners are the quintessential hosts that offered clean and comfortable rooms with character and a fantastic breakfast that was topped off with stories of the family. Their beautiful deck gave us a wonderful place to enjoy one of those bottles of wine we bought along the way too! We will definitely be traveling their way again to enjoy that Vineyard suite again!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoonistic_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Once again we stayed at the Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast on our way down south to visit my brother in Florida. We returned because we had such a lovely stay the first time. Such friendly, comfortable hosts - like visiting family.
Lou and Paul

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hannah was a great hostess. She saw that we were well cared for! The Rockford Inn is in a wonderful location near many wineries (approx. 30) in the Yadkin Valley Wine Region of North Carolina. You can also find horseback riding, canoeing, kayaking and hiking in the area as well as many excellent restaurants. The Inn was very clean and our suite, The Vineyard Suite, was very spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelJJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The Rockford Inn is the perfect spot for a getaway. The Inn is beautiful, with a sense of history (it's been in the family for over 150 years), and friendly hosts. Breakfast was terrific, with pecan crusted french toast, fresh fruit and sausage and bacon - mmmmm! We enjoyed a little antiquing nearby, and nearby wineries and restaurants are the perfect complement!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdabomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobson
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
15.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
567 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Jonesville/Elkin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
707 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4872 Rockford Rd, Dobson, NC 27017-7954
Location: United States > North Carolina > Dobson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dobson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards and wineries, and located in the center of the Yadkin Valley Wine Region, step back in time and enjoy the tranquility surrounding the Historic Rockford Inn Bed and Breakfast. Our Antebellum house (ca. 1848) situated at the crest of more than 6 rolling acres, will provide you with the simple pleasures and charm of country living while enjoying modern conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing