We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures on the Inn's website don't reflect what the property/rooms look like.”
Review of Dillsboro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dillsboro Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The location is alright but the pictures on the Inn's website do not give you an accurate picture of what the property actually looks like. When I booked the "suite" I was told that it had two bedrooms. I guess that is technically true but one bedroom is also the living room/kitchen so it is very cramped and strange to be sitting in someone's bedroom to talk rather than in an actual living room. Also, the Inn states that a continental breakfast is included. Again, that is technically true but the continental breakfast consists of packaged muffins, like the ones you can get a convenience store, and a bottle of orange juice. I just think the Inn needs to be more honest about that.

The rooms were alright in terms of decor but the suite was not clean. There was mildew on the bottom of the love seat as well as dust and hair all over the floor. The outside area is cluttered and junky looking. Also there isn't adequate parking at the Inn so we had to park up on a public road and walk down to the suite. It wasn't a long walk but our car was egged while parked up the highway. Finally, the owners are not particularly helpful or welcoming.

There are many beautiful places to stay in the North Carolina mountains. You are much better off choosing another Inn. I sure wish we had stayed elsewhere but we were swayed by the Inn's website and all the wonderful reviews the Inn had posted on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Abby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Dillsboro Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

My spouse and I along with our 5 year old granddaughter stayed at the Inn and loved every minute of our stay. Terri and T.J. could not have been nicer from the very friendly welcome which included muffins and orange juice to the campfire and marshmallows every evening. Great location, you can walk to town. Waterfall right outside your door with the soothing sounds of the water easily heard thru screen door. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank CARLADY35079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is absolutely the most beautiful inn. Everything about our 5 day stay was terrific. TJ was the best host you could ask for. Everything was at our disposal. Sitting by the campfire at night roasting marshmallows and listening to the waterfall is an experience you won't soon forget. Our room was very nice - the bed was sooo comfortable. We stayed late August-early September and slept with the private balcony door open all night (right off the bedroom) - could hear the water and just fell right to sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NC27542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We booked this inn for our 23rd anniversary because it looked so charming on their web site. A little beyond rustic; smelly towels, no kleenex, mirror in bathroom placed for 6-foot man. They advertise a continental breakfast which consists of pre-packaged muffins and coffee pot in the rooms. What I had envisioned as a romantic weekend was a big let-down

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank gundersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Dillsboro Inn June 6-8, 2007 to celebrate my 40th birthday. This was our second visit to the inn. The first being our daughters 4th birthday 5 years ago. We loved it so much then and wanted to return for this special occasion. We did the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad mystery dinner train on Friday night and stayed at the inn until Sunday. Terry & his wonderful dog greeted us on our arrival, showed us around and had our room ready to unpack. What a wonderful, restful weekend. We will alway return to this special place for our celebrations...The waterfall outside your door is peaceful and priceless...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KCmomSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Myself and my husband stayed at the inn in september 2005. We had a fab time, the suite was really big and comfortable. (ours was not the nicest one either - the owners gave us a tour of all the suites when the guests had checked out). We arrived very early and our room was still being cleaned but they let us use the bathroom and store our cases and charge our video batteries whilst we went for a walk. We found the hosts genuine and very very nice. We would not hesitate to stay there again. We were on the last two days of our holiday when we found this place or we would have stayed longer

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We stayed at the Dillsboro Inn in August 2005 and were incredibly pleased with everything about this lovely spot. Firstly, the location is outstanding: on the banks of the river, with a massive waterfall right outside the rooms - what a view!!!! It is unparalleled. Then the accommodations themselves are simply superb. We had a suite: bedroom with queen size bed, bathroom and massive lounge with a another superb queen sized bed and a queen sofa bed. There was a kitchenette, a fireplace, tvs, coffeemaker - a real home from home. The furnishings are posh rustic - really nice taste. If you were on honeymoon you would love this place, but equally a family would too.

Each room has access to various decks and terraces with chairs/tables/bbq. Every night they have a campfire sitout by the river - it's a little peace of heaven.

The innkeepers are a lovely couple who are so welcoming and nice. Nothing pretentious here - genuine people, genuinely pleased to welcome you.

Continental breakfast is provided in your suite: cereal/muffins/juice/coffee. All good.

You could easily spend a fantastic week here. There is rafting/floating/cannoeing just around the corner. Dillsboro itself has a wealth of great craft stores and restaurants (Dillsboro Steak and Seafood house - excellent) and of course the GSMR stops here.

We would love to return - our stay was just not long enough. Don't hesitate to visit.

17  Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
66 reviews
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillsboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillsboro Inn

Address: 146 North River Road, P.O. Box 270, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dillsboro Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dillsboro Inn Riverfront Suites, an eco-tourist sanctuary directly situated on a 300' wide whitewater river in the Smoky Mountains. In many ways we are intimately connected to our Tuckasegee river with direct access to waterfront parks, playgrounds and shorelines for fishing and communing with nature. Located within walking distance to the historic town of Dillsboro, NC, known for it's many craft cooperatives and cozy restaurants. Each Suite has it's own vantage point to the river with balconies and gardens with a central riverfront courtyard where one can experience nightly campfires. Dillsboro Inn is smoke free and selected ground floor suites are pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing