We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with unhealthy breakfast selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with unhealthy breakfast selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at numerous Best Westerns and have typically found the breakfast to be complemented by many healthy choice, e.g., boiled eggs, bananas, grapes, etc. Unfortunately the Dillsboro location was found wanting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Charles, I am sorry that you did not find what you were looking for in our breakfast bar. We do take comments and suggestions very seriously and will look at ways we can improve this. Just so you know, here are some of the healthier options on our breakfast bar: fruits (right now we have delicious fresh apples, bananas, and even oranges - all locally sourced!), grits, oatmeal, wheat bread, bran muffins, raisin bran cereal, yogurt, and more. Plus we have pancakes, waffles in two different flavors, breakfast meats, biscuits, and eggs. We try to offer the kind of breakfast where there is something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    169
    32
    22
    13
See reviews for
284
299
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice hotel with a view of river outside our window. Bed was pretty comfortable but sleep was difficult as SOMEONE - probably children - overhead kept running and jumping until around 11 pm. Room also had a horrible order of muskiness which did not disappear even after a hotel employee came to spray it. Consequently, I woke up the next morning with a dreadful headache. Breakfast was nice but your usual fare of hotel food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 622patriciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I'm sorry you had an issue with the room smelling musty upon arrival. Once you alerted us of the continued issue at checkout we took the room offline so that we could investigate and solve the problem with an ozone machine. Please know that we take all comments to heart and work quickly to resolve any issues our guests bring to our attention. Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valdosta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Love the big beds with lots of pillows. Friendly staff. The room was a good size with chairs. Clean and quiet rooms. Had a good view of river. Good breakfast with fresh fruit. Wish they had flavored coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Could not get a room in Cherokee so decided to try this one in Dillsboro .What Luck! This is such a great find, the rooms were clen, beds comfortable and I thought the morning breakfast was very good.I can't wait to come back and sit in the rockers and watch the river!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodieman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a long road trip looking for a place to lay my head for the night. Stumbled upon this absolute gem of a hotel. Great views, spotless rooms and the staff was among the most energetic and friendly people you could ask for! I am definitely planning to return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the river view rooms. They fill up quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The free breakfast was horrible. People pushing and shoving. No hotel staff to replenish items or control crowd. River View was not a great idea due to the extreme number of bugs. Hotel AC units are old and do not cool the rooms. Beds were old, creaky and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elizabethl322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pleasant room, recommend the river view. It was nice that there were tables and rocking chairs on a deck. The breakfast was not very good even for motel standards and the coffee in the room and at breakfast was not fit to drink. Off the main road so was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dpwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing