We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the "Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Wonderful location by the river...and excellent service. I love staying at this hotel. The hotel is clean and the view is great and relaxing with the sound of the rushing river. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 893 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was very clean with comfortable beds. The pool and hot tub was great. This hotel is right next to a river making for sleeping wonderful, love the babbling noises it made. Lulled us right to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My son, husband and I stayed here while here to see our son perform in the marching band. Location was nice by the river but we didn't spend much time at the hotel and our room faced the parking. Upkeep of the rooms was just okay. Clerk at front desk was very nice. Breakfast was again very average. Nothing terrible but nothing to make us return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSandster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great quality hotel conveniently backing to the river. I stayed in the winter but during the summer this would be a great place to be for some tubing down the river with the kids. Breakfast was very good and the room was very spacious and clean. I would definitely stay here again and it is very close to Cherokee and the Smoky Mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Beautiful Riverfront Hotel Rooms!...We like playing at the Casino nearby(Harrahs Cherokee). However, we prefer to stay at Dillsboro Best Western over the Casino rooms because the "riverfront" view is fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Wheelchair access is very good, in designated rooms and public spaces. The location on the river is beautiful and its clean and nice. Only the breakfast could have been a bit better. The eggs were rubbery and the pancake machine wasn't working. Got by with yogurt and cereal, so not too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013


I have stayed here numerous times over the last 7 years, always for 3-5 days at a time. I just cannot agree with the other reviewers.
The positive: absolutely lovely location on the Tuckesegee river. Watch the ducks, the kayakers and the tubers, or join in the fun in good weather. If you stay, get a river view room, and yes, the charge is high for the quality provided. The hotel is reasonably clean and the front desk is young and southern, making them generally pleasant, but not particularly helpful.
However EVERYTHING in this motel needs to be updated, as far as I can tell, nothing has been done to the place in the 7 years we have been staying there, and it was dated and old 7 years ago.
The furniture is old and chipped, the chairs and couches are very uncomfortable , obviously bought for cheap cost, not comfort, and it is truly ugly, as is the wall paper etc. Our desk chair was so poorly designed that it tipped over 4 times just from sitting in it. (Luckily no one was hurt, but they easily could have been)Then we forbade anyone to sit on it and moved it into a corner. (Note to management, you need to get rid of these chairs. They are a lawsuit waiting to happen, we were just lucky we discovered the defects before our grandchildren were hurt)
The place is clean enough, but the "decor" makes it seem dirtier than it probably was. The odd smell in the hallways didn't help either.
The mattresses are fine, but the bedding is mediocre, somewhat scratcy. Electric plugs are hard to locate, but the wireless does work well. Lighting is only ok, but not really adequate.
The bathroom is a horror, it has no room whatsoever to put anything (the floor?) and is difficult to move in, even for one person. The towels are rough and thin. Closet space and drawer space are minimal and poorly laid out. Even in the large "suite" we had, there is nowhere to stow your luggage. The rooms were not serviced adequately and I finally gave up and just straightened up and made the bed myself. ( there was no sign to hang in the door to request service)
The elevator is ungodly slow and using the stairs requires going down to the very end of the hallway each time.
The pool is ok and seems to be maintained but we had to request towels several times, no one seemed to be caring for those needs.
Breakfast is mediocre at best. I don't think much of motel breakfasts in general, but most of this breakfast was unedible .( Egg patties? really?) Coffee, orange juice and a muffin or biscuit was all we could manage.
The problem is that there are few real alternatives in this area, and I guess the motel figures it doesn't have to provide reasonable quality.
All in all, I was very happy to leave and go to a motel with reasonable updating and amenities snd I sm dreading my next stay in the area.
Sent from my iPad

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank rebmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

I am disheartened to hear about your many disappointments during your latest stay. We are continually making improvements to our property each year in an effort to improve our offerings. Our hotel was built in 2002 and although we have not had a major renovation since then we have been investing in improvements along the way. Last year we replaced all bedding, got higher thread count linens, nice large pillows, and installed new 42" LED televisions. As a busy hotel we plan all major projects / changes during our slow period of winter, which we are coming up on. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and will never stop adding newer things to keep our guests happy. We truly appreciate and take care of our guests and value any feedback we receive, even if it is not the most flattering. It is our hope that you take into account other guest reviews as well - because this is truly not the kind of experience the vast majority of our guests leave with. I hope you will consider coming back to visit us in 2014 and will be pleasantly surprised with what you find.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites

Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range: $101 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Best Western with a style all its own. Overlook a rambling river from your spacious room or relax on our scenic riverside patio. Enjoy deluxe guest rooms, suites, a heated indoor pool and hot tub, and a hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing