We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own little Eden in the Smokies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our own little Eden in the Smokies”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here in a king-size jacuzzi room during a three-day, two-night weekend getaway. I had stayed here once before while driving a professional mototcoach for the Citadel Bulldogs men's baseball team. The staff here were all exceptional helpful in helping us to locate a few different attractions in the near vicinity. Each morning, prior to my wife awakening, I opened the balcony door to the sound of rushing river water passing by our room. We could sit out on the balcony as kayaks drafted by or go downstairs to the large open porch. Though a bit small, I worked out in the hotel exercise room twice during our stay. This hotel has an indoor pool and indoor hot tub to just sit in and relax. The suite we rented was rather large with a comfortable king- size bed, two-person jacuzzi, and comfortable sitting area. Each morning, a hot breakfast was served. Especially helpful during our stay was Carly and one other male desk clerk who was there to tend to our needs the whole weekend. Dillsboro tand Sylva are quaint and relaxing little municipalities to sit back and take in. Fifteen minutes away is the Cherokee Indian Reservation. Twenty minutes away is Bryson City, home to the Great Smokey Mountains Railroad. If you're ever in the area, I highly recommend that you come stay for a while! It may just become your first choice of hotels to stay at whenever you're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillettMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    176
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
302
316
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Up for a long weekend from North GA with the fam. Super clean and updated, exceedingly friendly staff. Right on the river, close to everything (<15 minute (easy) drive to Cherokee). Paid less than $100/nite for Sat & Sun nite stay...cant beat it! Will return before summer is out :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
792 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have to give this BW an excellent rating. It's not the Ritz but it can hold it's own. We needed somewhere fairly close to Western Carolina for baseball and I stumbled across this on TripAd. The ratings intrigued me and they couldn't have been more right. The hotel is nice and clean. The location is idyllic, right on the river. The rate was very reasonable. Were this a Hilton property (my hotel of choice), it probably would have been $50 more. The town of Sylva near by has some good eateries and the staff was friendly and proficient. You cannot enter the building from the sides but only through the front after 10pm, a security feature I've not seen at any other hotel. I stay at hotels and chains that I know deliver a consistent product and have not stayed at a BW in probably 20 years. This is one that I will make every effort to get back to.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10-15 for a room on the river side, 2nd or 3rd floor. You are literally 20 feet from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nestled on a back road in Dillsboro NC is this Hidden Treasure. My sister and I have taken our mother to this BW River Escape for several years now. When we ask about her summer trip, this is always her choice. We love the rockers on the river, great rooms, excellent breakfast and really conscientious staff.

On our last trip, Mom lost her wedding band during the night. She has lost weight due to health issues. On our way out of town she noticed that her ring was not on her finger. I immediately called BW River Escape. When we returned Megan had the ring in her hand. She personally went to the room and found the ring for us. They had checked the laundry, under the bed, and in the breakfast area. What a great effort for my Mom's personal need.

Several families have stayed there on our suggestion. Try it out; you won't be disappointed.
Gail in Rome, GA

Room Tip: We enjoy getting a room on the river side.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail30165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I must admit I never stay in Best Western hotels in my area because they are always run down older hotels. This is the first Best Western that I can say I would recommend to my friends. The hotel is located in a quiet area of town. Free breakfast is included and the rates are very moderate. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: I would request a balcony room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a great view of the river. Leave door ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCFunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The property is on the other side of the railroad tracks: literally!!! What a pleasant and peaceful place. You can heard the soothing water from balconies or from the back deck area. It was a pleasure to spend a night here. Very clean hotel and the staff was helpful and personable. I will definently stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I started started staying at River Escape when our son was at Western Caroina University. We have been known to drive our 7 hour drive just for a 2 day stay. It is a fantastic place to relax and destress! The view is awesome, the service is great, the rooms are clean and decorated very nice and the staff is so helpful!

We can't wait to get back there for another "mountain fix"!

Room Tip: The river view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camcarz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
9.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Best Western with a style all its own. Overlook a rambling river from your spacious room or relax on our scenic riverside patio. Enjoy deluxe guest rooms, suites, a heated indoor pool and hot tub, and a hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing