We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "family" restaurant”

Kostas Family Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent "family" restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a very nice restaurant with a huge variety of delicious selections listed on the menu.
The portions served are generous and nicely presented. The service was fast and friendly and their prices are reasonable.
Don't forget to save room for one of their fantastic desserts.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    181
    44
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Pretty Disappointing Overall”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We've eaten here several times in the past when we traveled through and when our daughter played soccer at WCU, so I was fairly disappointed with the food today. The Caesar salad had merely a hint of Caesar dressing and had tomatoes that were mushy and more appropriate for the horrid winter tomatoes that are tasteless. The rolls had the disturbing quality of not being fully stale since they were obviously fresh baked, but somehow had the consistency of staleness.

The piece d'resistance was the ribeye steak which amounted to a knock off of a chopped steak with mushroom gravy and that addition ruined what otherwise would have been a tolerable, though not amazing steak. Having had prime rib a few times here that was excellent, this just made you wonder who the culinary sadist was who did this. Ruined a birthday meal - but the good thing is it was consistently below average across the board. MY wife's gyro was average, but it would be very difficult to mess that up.

Service was fine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rk821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

First of all, I expected Greek food, but only a portion of the menu appeared to be Greek. I felt a little strange ordering a chicken fried steak in a Greek place...but did it anyway. And it turned out okay! The gravy was brown instead of cream, which I'd also not seen before, but it was interesting and I still enjoyed it.
The carrot cake was HUGE (I got a slice to go) and absolutely delish.
Overall, I'd definitely eat here again if I'm in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Gyros”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family of four visited Kostas for dinner in early August. All four of us had the Gyro platter for dinner and enjoyed them very much. The platter was generously portioned with delicious Gryo meat (combo of lamb and beef), very good french fries and a greek salad. It also came with warmed and very good flat bread. The service was prompt and good even with a crowded restaurant. The restaurant was very clean. This restaurant is clearly a favorite of the locals and of those on vacation in the area. It is a perfect spot to grab a family meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Greek/ Italian food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place was really good,the food and service was great. It didn't take long at all to get food, and the desserts rake big in size and delicious

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rusty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kostas Family Restaurant also viewed

Dillsboro, Jackson County
Sylva, Jackson County
 
Sylva, Jackson County
Dillsboro, Jackson County
 
Sylva, Jackson County
Dillsboro, Jackson County
 

Been to Kostas Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing