We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Mountain Inn”
Review of Jarrett House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jarrett House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
ZIRCONIA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Historical Mountain Inn”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We love the history of this mountain inn. Originally built in 1884 for railroad travelers, it has remained a great place for all who appreciate and love historical buildings and traditions.
It is interesting to see how this great old hotel has met the challenges of modern safety requirements (sprinklers, fire alarms, etc.). The pipes are simply added beneath the ceilings (which suit me fine). I was fascinated with the addition of basic electricity in days gone by. The wiring was simply run up with walls and onto the ceiling (in plain view to this day). That also suits me fine. I love the chintz-pattern wallpaper and lacy curtains so popular in by-gone eras. We could have stayed at a modern hotel free using our points, but chose to pay the reasonable fee to stay at this historic inn.
We love the complimentary breakfast (grits, gravy, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, coffee/juice). It is SO much better than the muffin continental breakfast at franchise hotels.
We also had dinner in the dining room on the evening of our stay. Bowls of green beans, corn, beets, potatoes, slaw, biscuits, apple sauce, fried chicken, etc. It was SO good and was simmered like Granny cooked food. Nothing was just microwaved out of a bag like modern restaurants. This is a real place where they serve real food!
We will return again and again.

Room Tip: We think they are all great, but we ask for the 3rd floor because the outside porch looks over the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordie60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corryton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Rooms were not all the same sizes. We were with another couple and thier room was almost twice as big as ours, and asked the folks if we could swap to the room on the other side of them and they said everything was booked. When we went to our rooms at 12:00 midnight the room was still empty, when we went out in the morning it was still empty. ROFL
Beds we not comfortable and the shower had very little water pressure. We will try another place the next time to Dillsboro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a cute place and if you like antique, this will suit. The room was very clean but also very run down. The mattresses on both beds were in serious need of replacing. One was inner spring and the springs poked all night, not to mention squeaked loudly whenever you moved. The other was so worn out you sank into a hole wherever you laid. The bathroom is very small...my husband had to sit "side saddle" on the toilet because his legs wouldn't fit between the tub and toilet. The walls are so thin you can hear and understand any conversation going on in the next room (and they can hear yours). Now for safety...the stairs going to the third floor are leaning, wall sockets were uncovered, no fan in the bathroom, fire exits from 3rd floor were to a roof that could not be safe to stand on...I could go on but you get the picture. There are no elevators so all luggage has to be hand carried up to whatever floor your staying on. (Again the stairs are narrow, leaning, and just plain difficult to traverse). This is an extremely old (but charming) building that could be made safe if plumbing, electrical, and construction safety issues were addressed. I'm sure this could be done without changing the charm of the building. The people there were very nice, and accommodating. The breakfast that came with the room was very good. The price was great for the area. The whole building smelled of fried chicken though for the entire evening/night which started out good but got old in a hurry. Our room was on the street side and got awakened by traffic several times during night. Other than the free breakfast we did not eat there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dillsboro hotels

St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very friendly staff. Historic B&B in 100+ year old building. Room was large but a little worn however it is a great value for the price. Bathroom was small but to be expected for the price and age of the building. Room on street side of the hotel was kind of noisy but not unbearable. No TV in rooms but one is in a shared living room area (great chance to catch up on some quite reading). Average breakfast comes with the room..better than most chain hotels however. Resturant serves family style lunch and dinners but we did not try them on this trip. Judging from the number of folks waiting for tables during dinner the meals must be pretty good. This was our second stay in the past year and would recommend it to others traveling in the area. Courtyard rooms are more modern and roomy and are all ground level entry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMP1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We didn't stay at the Jarrett House, but did have the opportunity to have lunch. It was AMAZING! Large portions, well cooked/seasoned, fast service! We had a fabulous server! She had a sense of humor and was quick and efficient. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here after a recent trip to Cherokee, NC. Very quiet, very clean, had a wonderful night's sleep. My husband and I loved the complimentary breakfast...not for those on a low-fat or low-carb diet!

If you need all of the modern amenities, this is not for you. Space is limited in the bathroom, and the in-room mirrors are small. No in-room tv's (hooray!) However, the house is charming, and the hosts are very nice. Dillsboro is an adorable little town to explore for an hour or two.

I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingPhotoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary in the North Carolina mountains this weekend. We spent Saturday evening at the Jarrett House. The people there were very friendly and eager to help in any way. Yes, it's an old structure (built in the 1800's), but it does have that old time charm that is neat to experience, if you're used to modern day hotels. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone looking to spend a quiet evening in the foothills of the Smokey Mountains.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
144 reviews
7.4 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jarrett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarrett House

Property: Jarrett House
Address: 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jarrett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic inn was built in 1884 and host 16 rooms inside the inn furnished with Victorian furniture for that"step back in time" feel. The perfect place to unplug from the world and enjoy life! Our recently remodeled lobby, tea room and dining room provides our guest a comfortable place to relax and gather with old friends and make new ones. If you need a little more modern convenience we have 6 rooms located outside in our courtyard that have televisions so you don't miss your favorite show. Our lodging is available April 1, 2015. We will be opening a new lounge "Coach's" in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jarrett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarrett House Hotel Dillsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing