We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Chalet Inn. It is a peaceful place to relax and a good base to explore the area from. The breakfast is very good. The staff is attentive without being intrusive. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MItchReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I just recently got away for a quiet weekend in the mountains. When searching for a place to stay I had an extremely difficult time finding accommodations with good ratings and at a good value. We decided to take a chance on the Chalet Inn since it was highly rated. STOP searching for another accommodation now! This B&B is conveniently located near Bryson City, Cherokee, Nantahala Gorge, the Great Smokies, Blue Ridge Parkway & Cherohala Skyway, and only about 1hr from Asheville. The owners Hanneke & George were extremely hospitiable and were more than informative about local restaurants, hikes and scenic views to visit. In light of the recent government shutdown there were many popular sites we could not visit and the staff was able to direct us to beautiful secondary locations that were hidden gems. The amount of amenities the Chalet offer are extensive. You can sit by the fireplace and enjoy a book, coffee & tea, purchase a pre-made pack of smore ingredients and sit by the fire for a yummy treat or visit the local country club for complimentary swimming or gym use. There is also a small Chalet store where you can purchase beer and wine at your own leisure. Our room was exceptionally clean (we stayed in the Mountain View Room) and contained free WiFi access, a CD player, linens, private balcony and numerous bathroom toiletries. In fact, of all the B&Bs I've visited I never have been to one that serviced my room everyday. Every day the housekeeper came and made our beds, refreshed towels and toiletries, etc. Breakfast by candlelight was wonderful and served buffet style. There was always a selection of meats & cheeses, bread, yogurt, cereal and a few items on a hot bar as well as juices, coffee & milk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We cannot say enough about how much we loved the Chalet Inn. They have thought of everything - smores by a ready-to-light campfire, hiking trails leading to hammocks and sunsets, bug spray strategically placed along said hiking trails (you know, just in case), amazing homemade breakfasts, packed lunches if you ask, thorough knowledge and recommendations of restaurants, hikes, and local activities, the CLEANEST and I mean cleanest room we have ever stayed in... I could go on but have limited space here. Bottom line, they have thought of everything to make your stay the most relaxing as possible (no TVs - which we loved). Stop searching, stay here. It will be the most beautiful and relaxing vacation you've ever had, and your belly will be full every morning with Hanneke's wonderful breakfast. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: All rooms looked beautiful and have a great balcony/porch, but if you're not sure just call and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stay at this inn every time we head to the mountains.
We LOVE the huge jacuzzi tubs in the suites. We are not talking about a small, barely fitting, 2 person tub...I'm talking a HUGE 2 person jet tub. It's perfect, and there's always plenty of hot water.
The fireplace is set in the wall at the jacuzzi and you can watch tv while soaking (during the cold months).
My husband loves the steam shower!
We like to walk around the mountain a bit, as they've started building the most lovely trails!
Our hosts prepare the most delightful meals for breakfast, she is a fabulous baker! There is nothing like waking up in the morning to your breakfast waiting for you at your door.
Don't let the driveway up to the Inn deter you, it looks a little intimidating, but welcome to the mountains..lol!
We adore it here, and will be staying everytime we come to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supercalafragilisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This bed and breakfast is excellent. The Innkeepers are extremely generous and make you feel right at home. They gave us the privacy we needed and we always a phone call away. My wife and I were a little nervous about staying at a bed and breakfast because we had never experienced it but once we arrived to The Chalet Inn we felt very comfortable. Beautiful views and perfectly located in the heart of the Smokey Mountains. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking to find some peace and quiet or a nice vacation

Room Tip: For a more modern room book a room in their new building. For a more traditional bed and breakfast s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hookerton, Nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had such a great time we stayed an extra day. Wounderful in room breakfast, well kept grounds, informative host. Enjoyed walking the trails and sitting at the fire beside the pond. Will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenshaw, PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

While researching places to stay south of Smoky Mountain National Park, I came across The Chalet. We originally were planning to stay only one night in the area, but the Chalet sounded so charming, we decided to change our plans and stay the two nights they required. We were so glad we did.

We arrived in a big rainstorm, and Matt, the intern, greeted us at our car with two large umbrellas, to help us in.

This is a very relaxing place. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, with fresh baked goodies and a nice selection of hot and cold options. George was very helpful in suggesting places to see, and in providing maps.

We hiked the trails and enjoyed a game of bocce ball.

Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
3.8 mi away
Jarrett House
Jarrett House
#4 of 4 in Dillsboro
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 285 Lone Oak Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725 (Formerly The Chalet Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Inn is the closest B&B and Boutique Hotel to the main entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Chalet Inn includes two buildings constructed in traditional Alpine style, nestled in a 22 acre private forest where the Smoky Mountains meet the Blue Ridge Mountains in Western North Carolina. Chalet Inn is a romantic Smokey Mountain bed and breakfast with European ambiance offering Jacuzzi and/or fireplace suites, large or economy rooms all with private balconies or patios. Chalet Suites is a modern Smoky Mountain boutique hotel offering self-contained jacuzzi and fireplace suites with private entrances and upscale amenities to include AppleTV with NetFlix and Internet Radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Chalet Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing