We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”
Review of The Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chalet Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent two nights here over Easter weekend. George and Hanneke are very helpful and full of suggestions if you need advice on what to do in the area. There are hiking trails on their property if you want a little exercise but don't want to drive anywhere. The evenings are peaceful and quiet and perfect to enjoy a glass of wine on your private deck. There are several small towns within short driving distance that are worth exploring, Sylva and Dillsboro were my two favorites. If you are into Mountain Biking Tsali is a short 25 minute drive away as well.

Room Tip: the mountain side rooms also face the driveway which isn't a big issue since there are few rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbikerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay, especially for adults.
You feel very welcome, but you feel like you are in your private home.
It is centrally located to do many things.
If you stay at the Chalet the scenery is beautiful and peaceful.
We hope to visit every year as our annual couple trip that we force ourselves to do.
We love it.

Room Tip: First time we stayed down stairs in the newer building, it was wonderful. This year we treated ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALOS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just a two night stay while hiking; very comfortable "homey" room with a beautiful balcony that was perfect for that glass of wine in the evening.
Hosts - very attentive and the type you want to sit down and get to know from the very second.

Not a place to stay if you want to walk to eat dinner as you have to drive. Would stay here again and again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at The Chalet Inn on our vacation. We were greeted outside by one of the hosts and welcomed to the inn. I'll have to admit that I was a little disappointed that there was no television in the room; however, it was nice to just spend time together without a tv. Our room was exceptionally clean. The breakfast was amazing! George and Hanneke were so helpful and friendly! George helped us to decide what to do one day and even provided us with a map to get to our destination. If we vacation to North Carolina again, we'll probably revisit The Chalet Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whit825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Very secluded location and about 6 miles from Sylva (best town for food). Room was very clean but smaller than the website picture indicated. We had a ground floor room, which I do not recommend. Views are limited and the porch/balcony is not very private with the walkway right in front. The grounds around the upper building seemed to be under construction so things, so their is a lot of stuff and dirt about. Walkways are dirt and gravel. Breakfast served to your room was very good and plentiful. The on location trail is a nice 45 hike of moderate effort. Overall a very nice place but several items and amenities on the website are not provided. Getting a massage was a major pricing issue. Our welcome letter offered a couples message for $120 but when we called they switched providers and the price was $170, and their in room book said $160. Also, website said booking early would be a 10% discount. Did not happen. TV is Netflix movies and a few shows only, no broadcast or cable TV is available. Wifi service was excellent. Note to anyone considering visiting on a motorcycle. The driveway up to the Inn is very steep with a heavy dose of gravel and the parking area is all gravel. OK for dual sports but could be treacherous for other bikes.

Room Tip: Get a room and the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden Dunes IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

If you love the Smokies already or want to experience them for the first time in the most rewarding way possible, make The Chalet your lodging. The drive into the main National Park entrance is only 15 or 20 minutes, and other interesting regional attractions abound. If you have a mind to just relax and stay put, you will find The Chalet's grounds and amenities perfect. Every room has a balcony with a view, bird song awakens you if you keep your windows open, walking paths invite you to pre-breakfast excursions, nights are dark and quiet. (but we were serenaded by a courting bullfrog each evening during our stay! Loved that, and closing the windows shut out the calls when we went to bed).

Our visit was during the first week of May 2011--our first time back to the area in almost 30 years. We were treated so well and felt such a rapport with our hosts, Hanneke and George! They have been thoughtful of every comfort: there are games, guide books, paperbacks to borrow, bedside candies replaced each day, a glass of wine or beer in the evening--and a changing menu of delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We loved our stay at the Chalet Inn! George and Hanneke were very gracious in helping us arrange our stay (and even sent a sweet thank you note congratulating us on our marriage afterwards) in the months before the wedding. The property is positively gorgeous and, while we just couldn't stay long enough to take advantage of them, has all kinds of fun things to do (bocce ball, croquet, a fire pit with s'mores kits...).

Our room, the Romantic Hideaway, was clean, simply and nicely decorated, and very large. The jacuzzi tub was long enough that my new 6'6" husband could actually stretch out his legs (very much appreciated).

Breakfast was delicious - yeast rolls and some other kind of baked pastry (apple turnovers, poppyseed muffins, and cinnamon rolls) were delivered warm to our door every morning, and a baked egg dish was left in the fridge for us to stick in the toaster oven and have fresh eggs.

The website is very helpful and we found a white-water rafting trip and a local spa (which will give you 10% off if you tell them you're staying at the Chalet Inn) on it to enjoy during our stay. Chalet Inn also has menus for local restaurants in the main area, which we took full advantage of (Lulu's in nearby Sylva was fantastic!).

All in all we had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The suites are newly built and nicely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Inn

Property: The Chalet Inn
Address: 285 Lone Oak Dr, Dillsboro, NC 28789-9428
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chalet Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Inn is the closest B&B and Boutique Hotel to the main entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Chalet Inn includes two buildings constructed in traditional Alpine style, nestled in a 22 acre private forest where the Smoky Mountains meet the Blue Ridge Mountains in Western North Carolina. Chalet Inn is a romantic Smokey Mountain bed and breakfast with European ambiance offering Jacuzzi and/or fireplace suites, large or economy rooms all with private balconies or patios. Chalet Suites is a modern Smoky Mountain boutique hotel offering self-contained jacuzzi and fireplace suites with private entrances and upscale amenities to include AppleTV with NetFlix and Internet Radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing