We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Fare and Delightful Food and Atmosphere”

Savory Plum Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Denver
Cuisines: American
Description: Google
Restaurant details
Description: Google
Newton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Fare and Delightful Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I enjoy finding new, locally owned establishments. I discovered the Savory Plum from a Google search and decided to try it out. We were not disappointed! It is small and quaint but large on quality food that tastes excellent and is fresh, wonderful atmosphere, and great service. It's obvious these folks care about their product and take the steps to make it work. I had the Pimento Cheese, Turkey, and, bacon Pannini. The Pimento Cheese was homemade and some of the best I have ever had. Just enough sharp but not overpowering allowing the flavor of the apple wood bacon and smoked turkey to shine through. The lemon bar was just the right finishing touch. This place is worth the trip!! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Horrible cake”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We ordered a cake from here. Let's just say very disappointed. Was very dry. Suppose to have custard. Did not. Was not 1/4 sheet was 1/8. Forgot to add letter on end of name when we asked them to fix it they got a major attitude. When we went to complain all the owner did was give a $5 gift card. With their prices so high would couldn't even buy a slice of cake. We really wanted a "good cake!" Guess next time go to Walmart. Lol. So if you want a good cake go somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabullock2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better and better!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice to have an upscale causal cafe in Denver. Great specialty coffees, sandwiches, and even some dinner options. The absolute best cakes anywhere! Had the coconut cream, it was outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misterajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem-everthing is homemade!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We moved from New York a few months ago and have not been able to find a place to eat with a cute, cozy atmosphere where all the food is fresh, simple and gourmet. The savory plum Cafe has amazing panini's, the most outstanding mac and cheese (fresh bread crumbs with spices flown from France) and even a freshly baked doughnut! We met the chef, Terry, whose passion for her food was cultivated while living and training in France. Although I wish this cafe was closer to where we are living, it is well worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dms017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savory Plum Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Savory Plum Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing