We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabi Asian Bistro

Sabi Asian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabi Asian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Davidson
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Griffith Street
Noth Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Sabi is the archetypal "fusion" Asian restaurant catering to people who have never been to Asia. I admit it - I'm spoiled by real Thai food in Thailand, authentic Chinese food in China, and local cuisine in Singapore. Sabi's menu has dishes from these places but all of them tailored to the palates of Americans who don't travel and don't want to eat hot food and expect every Chinese dish to be sweet and sour. If you want the great food you can find in SE Asia or China, try someplace else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extensive sushi menu, limited (but good) other, good service, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

College town restaurant, primarily sushi with a few pan Asian options. Pricey, so the kind of place you either take the date you're trying to impress, or ask your parental units to treat you when they come to visit. We went during Davidson Family Weekend, so there were 2 adults, 1 college student and 1 high schooler with us.

Our total, with tip, was just over $110. This was for 4 entrees, 1 alcoholic drink, 1 tea, and 1 appetizer. There was a $1 surcharge to get brown rice or fried rice instead of standard white rice (we were charged this on 3 of the entrees).

The edamame was good and not salty, which is rare to find. Cost $3.25

One of our party wanted chicken fried rice, which they accommodated for $8.50 even tho it was not on the menu.

My ginger sea bass was the most expensive at $21, but it did taste good. Two others ordered the walnut shrimp ( which could have used a few more shrimp) and the spicy seafood trio (which she raved about), both of which were $14 each.

Although it's supposed to be a sushi restaurant, we only ordered one California roll ($5.50) and no one seemed impressed by it.

It was not crowded at all despite being a Friday night, perhaps because we went early (?) -- about 5pm.

I could see myself going again, but not for sushi nor sashimi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lil_drama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Thursday night for dinner at the last moment with no reservation. Ate at the sushi bar. The food was really great and very well presented. Try the lobster tempura.
We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Furse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good asian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sabi is easy to get to, and has not been a problem with waiting to get a table and served. Their food spans a variety of Asian tastes, sushi, some traditional japanesse items, chinese, and thai. I have tried most of the flavor sets and they do a great job in all. You'll find lots of options and won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank reeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian fusion/sushi, laid-back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

In this restaurant you'll know you're in a college town, but that's good, right? It's quite big, several sprawling rooms. Big menu with lots of sushi choices, and lots of Asian dishes of various degrees of authenticity. Decent wine list. I had a shrimp and thai chili dish on lo mein noodles which was really good. Service is friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabi Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sabi Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing