We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullowhee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cullowhee B&B and Inns
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and would have never stayed anywhere else. It felt just like home to us. Cathy and Anthony were so warm and accommodating! We stayed in the Hideaway Suite and we didn't want to leave...ever! What a wonderful and special place with wonderful and special innkeepers! We will always remember them and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunniedaze07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCarolinaLodger, Owner at The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Our thanks to you for choosing The River Lodge as your accommodatiions destination to
celebrate your anniversary. We appreciate your comments and that we have made your
stay as good as it can get! Hope to see you for your 11th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I have found our getaway when visiting our son at Western Carolina for the next 4 years. The River Lodge is a gem tucked away in the Smokey Mountains. The owners, Cathy and Anthony were gracious and warm hosts and treated us like old friends. The lodge is beautifully decorated, comfortable and accommodating. Our room opened to a porch on the balcony where we sat enjoying the serenity of the mountains and watching the hummingbirds flitting and chitting at us for disturbing their dinners. Very relaxing! I'm already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Cathy and Tony are the best. What wonderful people. Helpful in every way. We stayed in the Hideaway Suite and highly recommend it. Breakfast superb. Main lodge and rooms very well decorated.Slyva and surrounding area a lot of fun, great shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been fortunate enough to stay here a couple of times now. The location is fabulous, an easy drive from the madness of Atlanta, in a peaceful and relaxing spot on the river. The welcome we have received each time from both Cathy and Anthony is just like coming home to family.

The great room is beautiful with high ceilings and an impressive river rock fireplace which dominates the room. We have only ever visited in summer, but I'm sure on winter nights it would be wonderful. There is a full size pool table for guest use in the great room as well as really comfortable sofas and chairs for conversation with other guests.

The breakfasts are first class and fill you up comfortably for a day of sighseeing in the mountains. Cathy is also very accommodating about any food allergies/dietary restrictions. On a warm summer's morning, it really is great to be able to sit out and enjoy breakfast while watching the numerous hummingbirds at the feeders.
The town of Sylva is really cute, but if a bigger city is what you're after, Asheville isn't too far through the mountains.
We always have a great night's sleep at the River Lodge - the beds are very comfortable and there is zero traffic noise so a restful night is guaranteed.
Highly recommend a stay with Cathy and Anthony.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are lovely - sit out and enjoy watching the hummingbirds on the feeders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCarolinaLodger, Owner at The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and as always we look forward to having you stay
with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the River Lodge when we went to visit the Castle Ladyhawke where my daughter is going to have her wedding. Cathy & Anthony were wonderful. So helpful with any recommendations for the wedding that we needed. The breakfast was delicious and we felt completely at home. I had no problem recommending this place to my mother-in-law and her sister as a great place for them to stay when they come for the wedding.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talksalot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCarolinaLodger, Owner at The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful comments. We are looking forward
to accommodating you and your family for that special upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the River Lodge for a number of years. Each time we enjoy it more. Cathy and Anthony offer up their home as if you were extended family. They are friendly and very knowledgeable about the places to eat and things to do in the area. We have stayed in nearly every room, and I have no complaints about any of them. The great room offers a large fireplace and comfortable couches for reading. There are nice chairs for relaxing on the porch and down by the river that runs through their property. We're always excited to see what breakfasts will be served the mornings that we're there as they are always delicous. If you're in the Cullowhee/Sylva/Cashiers area, I highly recommend the River Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose the Hide A Way Suite if you're looking for something a little more secluded for you and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roastandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

There are very few decent places to stay in the Cullowhee area. This is a nice exception. The communal spaces and the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The breakfasts are terrific and incredibly filling. It's a good choice if you are in the area, but it is not a destination. Cashiers, NC is 20 miles away and has many more options for lodging and dining.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmavensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullowhee
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
University Inn
#2 of 2 in Cullowhee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 619 Roy Tritt Rd, Cullowhee, NC 28723-9668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cullowhee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cullowhee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rustic Elegance at it's Best...Experience The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast. Tucked in the mountains of Western North Carolina on a river bend. A massive stone fireplace stands boldly in the greatroom. Artfully decorated with antiques, American Indian motif and a touch of nature. Six uniquely decorated guest rooms all with private baths, Extroadinary breakfasts each morning and surroundings that will please your senses. Come visit The River Lodge, you;ll be glad you did! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing