We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”
Review of Loaves and Fishes

Loaves and Fishes
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Crossnore
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newland, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We frequently eat at this restaurant. Very good food and excellent service. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvsvieques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN DELIGHT”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

this is a family operated restaurant just off the Blue Ridge Parkway...near Linville and Newland NC...it draws not only the surrounding area but many vacationing Floridians...the owner is a gourmet cook...and her touch is everywhere on the menu....World class chicken fingers, home-made soups, salads and sadwiches....Everything is fresh...The real treats are the homemade desserts...fresh cobblers, homemade cakes and bread pudding are worth 6 stars...Open for lunch Wed through Friday...for dinner Wed through Saturday...not the easiest restaurant to find....but well wirth the trip....Very near Crossnore Mural and Crossnore School. No alcohol.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank z m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable price”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not a "fancy place" but the food was great at a reasonable price. Good, friendly service. I had the fired shrimp, my wife had the fried flounder. The seafood was fresh, lite breading. The hush puppies were very good also. Good assortment of sides also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kencapjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average is Excellent around here”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

With so few restaurants in this area one has to lower the bar a little. Unless you want to drive a long distance to get a great meal you are stuck with the few restaurants we have. So average becomes excellent. I haven't had a bad meal here but it's not my first choice. We usually go here just to switch things up a little. My girlfriend likes their pasta salad and they have a good seafood platter. I think most out of towners would walk in see the dining room and walk out. Then they would starve because they would walk out of ninety percent of the restaurants in the high country. So here's my advice. Take the atmosphere out of the equation and try the food no matter where you go. You will be surprised what good food you will find

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything about the visit was wonderful. The food was delicious, the service fast and friendly. Looking forward to our next trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kermit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loaves and Fishes also viewed

Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
 
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Plumtree, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Loaves and Fishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing