We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for a large family. ”

Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack
Ranked #33 of 88 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We Are A Family Run Business That Has Been Here On The Outer Banks For Thirteen Years And Still Going Strong. We Do Bbq,ribs,fried Chicken And All Your Favorite Country Fixings.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good for large families with a variety of menu choices for kids and grownups. Our waitress, Ginger, was fantastic making sure drinks were refilled and orders were complete.
I personally prefer Texas or Memphis BBQ but did enjoy their pulled pork. The place was packed when we first arrived but they were able to seat our party of ten (from 2 - 57) within 15 minutes. We were looking for a decent place to accommodate our crowd and Sooey’s was good.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 536JeffC536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Really lovely tasting bbq. Definitely try the potato salad too. Very delicious.

Don’t get fooled by the opening hours on google. Before Memorial Day they’re open Tuesday to Sunday from 11 to 4.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 510hannesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

No other customers when we arrived - should have been a big clue, but we decided to stay. BBQ not so good and although we were the only ones, service was slow.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank phyllis44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

I chose this location because it had good reviews. I was so disappointed. The sides were fast food quality and the entree (pulled bbq chicken) was nearly inedible it was so greasy.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank deblee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Coming at the end of the year, there were few places to eat so we were glad to see Sooey's open. They were out of quite a few things so we settled on the bbq chicken sandwich. It was just so-so. We had a feeling that the chicken was reheated from previous days and it lacked bbq taste. The waitress was new but very friendly.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vickib450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing