We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't find you”

Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack
Ranked #34 of 86 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We Are A Family Run Business That Has Been Here On The Outer Banks For Thirteen Years And Still Going Strong. We Do Bbq,ribs,fried Chicken And All Your Favorite Country Fixings.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My friend was getting married in the OBX and after fresh local seafood, NC BBQ was the next on the list of foods to enjoy. I read all the reviews and was excited for this place. We set out one day and drove all over Corolla. The map deceived us and we drove in circles and eventually gave up. Check your map location. It is not where you are. Too bad. We were looking forward to it.

Thank PKexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooeysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

I am terribly sorry that you could not locate us here in Corolla. The address does lead you to the right location, but the address is for the whole complex. 807 ocean trail unit 105 Corolla, NC 27927 is the correct unit for Sooey's BBQ. We hope that you will come back and give us a try. Sorry for all the confusion, sometimes it is very hard to find places here in the OBX area. We are located facing the Food Lion side of the shopping center next to the beach wear shop. Thank you Kevin, H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

5-5-2014. The lowest quality BBQ and food thus far. Canned veggies, JTM BBQ the pictures are all fraud. No smoker in site and the food was not even par. this is overpriced food probably bought at the Food Lion across the parking lot. Fried Chicken was dry, Brisket the photos in the tourist book were very miss leading. For those in the Midwest buy some JTM BBQ in a bowl ands microwave it. You will have a far better experience. In the words of Gordon Ramsey Shut it down and truly stop calling it Carolina BBQ that is truly a disrespect to the tradition.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooeysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello and sorry that you had such a bad experience here at Sooey's BBQ Corolla. I would like to start off by saying the photos that are on trip advisor are not pictures that we have posted, they are form guest and i have been steadily trying to remove them from the site and adding our pictures. Second off our food comes in from the food sources just like any other restaurant anywhere you may eat out. The food does not come from cans and is prepped daily here at each store. We have been in business here on the Outer Banks for thirteen years now and have won many awards with our food. I would like to extend an offer to please come try us once again and can promise you that what you had was not a daily occurrence here at Sooey's. I hope to change your mind about us as we are loved by many and take that with pride. Please ask for Kevin when you come back and would like to see you come back soon. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised to see find any restaurants open on New Year's Day, but this little place was packed! They served up hot, fresh BBQ. The staff was kind and friendly. We would absolutely recommend this place to everyone.

Thank miayercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were the only couple in the place on a early Wed afternoon. Our friendly waiter was Kyle and he gave us great service. We tried the pork bbq with a side of macaroni and cheese. Kyle suggested we try the mac & cheese and told us that if we didn't like it he would bring us something else. There was no need. It was homemade and creamy and cheesy. Definitely exceeded our expectations. We liked how the pork was sliced and not minced. Kyle suggested we combine the sweet bbq sauce with the vinegar that had pepper flakes in it. It was the perfect combination. We had a filling lunch for under $20. We'd definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Delicious food! If you like BBQ, greens, hushpuppies, and other similar dishes, you will be very happy with Sooey's. Their BBQ is scrumptious, and since I do not eat pork, it's great that Sooey's offers chicken BBQ as an option. A great place for casual food, eat-in or take-out.

Thank LizabethSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing