We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the Carolla- Southern Shores area is not complete w/o a meal here”

Metropolis Martini & Tapas Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Still my top choice for dinning around the Duck to Corolla area. Always fine specials on the board from an oyster mushroom risotto to their special soups. The asparagus and crab is a velvet treasure.
Something new for us was the escargot appetizer cooked on a coconut sauce with diced spring onions and I think poppy seeds.
People might come just for the seasonal cocktails and/or special wines.
Often we fill up with the varied tastes but held on for the pancetta this time. All a big yum.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Decided to visit Metropolis after reading reviews and we were not disappointed. Excellent meal and waitress Mauve. All of our tapas selections were wonderfully season and prepared. Nice wine and cocktail selection. All in all a wonderful evening and would be happy to return when visiting the area. Try the jambalaya!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank sangpicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

My wife and I travel to Corolla for a week off-season almost every year. We always eat at Metropolis at least twice during the week. The food is always creative and excellent. Matt and Mark are fantastic hosts and you can tell they enjoy what they are doing. I will continue to go there as often as I can.

Dave N St Michaels

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dave1957usna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Always a delight to try the specials at Metropolis which is closed Sunday and Monday late in the season.
I stopped by to enjoy a bowl of garlic soup topped by a delicious dolop of crab ($12).
From the regular menu I tried the seared apple bacon beef item which came on a bed of potato puree seasoned with brown butter and topped with a chicharrone. ($15)
Yum.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

This is a restaurant that wants you to be happy and satisfied! We had 13 adults who love great food and this is one of the best in the OBX. Start with a signature drink that can be seasonal but always unique. The Challah bread with the house special white truffle honey butter will leave you wanting more. Although they had an interesting fix menu we chose the tapas menu. Salad of Baby Spinach, Goat Cheese, Candied Bacon, Spiced Almonds, Pickled Red Onion & Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette are fresh. Scallops are seared perfectly on polenta with black truffles. Skewers of beef with Patatas Bravas (Spiced Fried Potatoes), Chimichurri were tender and seared to perfection. Fois Gras was like butter melting in your mouth served with a toast point and crunchy peanut butter then a maramalde sauce. OMG! Fried Petite Crab Cakes (4) w/ Harissa Aioli were wonderful. Chicken Thigh Confit Spring Rolls were excellent served with a sweet dipping sauce. Lump Blue Crab & Bowtie Pasta alla Vodka w/ Roasted Garlic Marinara, Cream & GBC . Garlic Fried Oyster Mushrooms & Goat Cheese Bruschetta was amazing! What a night of flavors - we loved every dish. Desserts are always creative and rich.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis Martini & Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Metropolis Martini & Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing