We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the sound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Entire staff was very accommodating during our stay. Management was kind enough to upgrade us to a sound front room that was totally awesome. Felt like we were on a cruise ship with the closeness of the water. Wonderful pier and gazebo on the water! Hotel has some age to it but it adds to the quaintness of the property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We were happy to note that you enjoyed your visit (and the complimentary upgrade). We hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Corolla Light
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Best room on OBX for sunset views. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette that was fully stocked, except for food. Easy access to both ocean and sound activities. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

We agree the sunsets are fabulous! Thank you so much for being our guest and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We can't wait for you to come back soon! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sister and I choose The Inn at Corolla Light based on the fact they had free bike rentals for guest. It was one of the best trips ever! We rode bikes from after breakfast until after dark for two days and had planned to leave early the third morning and rode bikes again until 1 pm. We ended up getting home about 11 pm that night and was at work the next morning. The extra bike ride was worth it! There is a sidewalk in front of the Inn that goes north to the end of the paved road (about 2 miles). Part of the sidewalk had lights along the ground and part of the sidewalk was so wide 5 people could walk side by side. There is a trail beside the Inn that goes to the historic village at the lighthouse (7/10 mile). And there are lots of side roads to ride, don't ride your bike on the main road unless you are an experience road rider. We rode on the beach at low tide. We packed tuna etc. for lunch and supper and ate on the beach or on a deck on the sound. We also enjoyed the history in touring the Whalehead house, the wildlife center and the shops in the historic village all near the lighthouse. There was a small shopping center nearby for shoppers, but we were not interested in that. The lady in the office and the gentleman who fixed breakfast were very helpful and interesting to talk with and told us a lot about the area. The breakfast had a variety of food and was very good. We stayed in room 48 and the view was amazing looking out over the sound at the gazebo. There was a big deck with Adirondack chairs. Our room had a gas fireplace, frig, microwave and was very spacious. We want to go back with our families.

Room Tip: We had room 48 that was a top corner room with a great view and large deck with Adirondack chairs...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We were delighted to host you and your sister for your "getaway". Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope you and your families have a wonderful holiday season and that you ALL come back to visit after we re-open in March for the 2014 Season. Hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We started looking for a romantic and interesting place for our long delayed 40th wedding anniversary trip. Somehow the name of the Inn popped in and we were intrigued. Ended up booking the place for 3 nights (and would stay longer if not for time constraint). Our first visit to Outer Banks was an excellent idea. The Inn is very pleasant and beautifully located. Our room #19 had a spectacular view of the sunset and the gazebo (exactly like advertised!). The room was pleasantly furnished with seaside theme furniture, comfy bed (lots of pillows and extra blankets) and well appointed seating area. Kitchenette a definite plus very well equipped. More space for toiletry in the bathroom would be good. Breakfast a good value, well presented, room nicely furnished (can eat outside and inside). Everywhere you can see the thoughtful touches of the staff. Chairs outside placed for maximum enjoyment and view. You can sit at the pool, relax in the tub, walk along the shore or listen to the waves at gazebo (hammocks). Arrival, stay and departure warm and welcoming. Definitely will come back and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view it's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We are also glad that you found us! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and to share with your friends. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you happy holidays -- Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We did an all day drive up from Ocracoke, with many stops along the way, and we were tired. We checked in at the Inn just expecting to crash for the night. Wow! Our room was beautiful. We went and sat in the gazebo out on the pier for sunset....perfect. The room had a small stove, microwave, fridge and sink. The truly nice surprise was the gas fireplace. Hubby fell asleep in front of that for a bit, he was so comfortable. The Inn is close to the Lighthouse, and many stores and restaurants if needed. The morning breakfast was so good. Loved the sausage! The other guests all enjoyed swapping stories.
The staff were all very pleasant and unobtrusive. We are already making our plans for next years return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBaxter257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We are so pleased that you found us -- and that you are coming back! We truly believe that we have the best guests and the best staff ever. Thank you for sharing your experience. Hope you enjoy the Holidays and we can't wait to see you in October! (If you want to come sooner, that is OK with us!) Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

my roommate and I just stumbled onto this beautiful place in the woods. The room was comfy stylish and clean, and had a cozy kitchenette. The owners are laid back and make sure you feel welcome and at home. We stayed in room #24, and were told that everyone who stayed here requested this room. Beautiful white wicker furnishings are really relaxing to help you take your time and enjoy your surroundings. In the Bay are three Osprey nests, high up on platforms in the water, and a family of barn swallows that were fun to watch. Bring your camera and binoculars for great viewing. The wildlife in the area is abundant, Oh, and don't forget to see the wild horses of Corolla!! A trip you won't-ever forget.
PS excellent walking paths!

Room Tip: #24 room was off a breezeway and was refreshing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We are happy that you "found" us in your travels. The Osprey nests are one of our favorite things to watch also. Glad you enjoyed your room and all of the surroundings -- walking trail, wild horses, etc. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. In the meantime, Happy Holidays! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband & I stopped in here on whim & were delighted. It really is almost at the top end of Outer Banks. Very nice employees & owners. Beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Knight suite. It was lovely, gas fireplace, view of the sound, HUGE bathroom w tub & separate shower, kitchenette. Met lovely people. Loved that you can use bikes & health club at no extra charge. I thought it was very clean. I don't understand these negative comments. We have stayed all over & this is one of the nicest places I have found.

Room Tip: The Knight Suite you will feel like a queen
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We are so glad that your "whim" brought you to the Inn! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we can't wait to welcome you back. In the meantime, Happy Holidays to you and your family. Regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: $120 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing