We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OBX's secret get-away spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Last week we stayed at the Inn as we have for several years in the past. We have always visited during the "off" season, and always enjoyed our stays.

The breakfast was a nice selection of foods and pastries between 8 and 10, a chance to socialize with other guests and the staff. The staff was friendly and informative regarding places to visit in the area.

The room was extremely clean with a fabulous view of the Sound. The sunsets were great!!!
Gas fireplace was so nice and romantic.

Room Tip: The sound front rooms are the best so you can gaze out the windows and see the pier and gazebo on th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

It is always a pleasure to welcome our repeat guests especially a couple as nice as you folks. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to many more. Best regards, Susan Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Corolla Light
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been going to the OBX for 15 years. What a find this place was! We had thought of getting away for my long birthday weekend to one of the more known quantities, but opted to give the Inn at Corolla Light a chance. It was more than expected! The quaint and romantic facade is set back off the road and is right on the sound. We had a charming room with a gas fireplace, a beautiful view of the inn's pier and the gorgeous sound sunsets, a full kitchen and jacuzzi bathtub. The bed mattress was so comfortable we thought of stripping the sheets off to see who the maker was. The breakfast was a nice spread in a delightfully sunny room, with great coffee, pastries and delicious "Carolina sausage". What made the stay even more personal was that the inn keepers are wonderfully cheerful and so accommodating. They found out it was my birthday and we came home from dinner one evening to find two individual bottles of white wine, an amazing piece of homemade amaretto cake with a candle and a personalized birthday card in our room! We had such a lovely, romantic time! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We were delighted you choose the Inn for your birthday weekend. We consider special occasions just that...special! We strive to make your birthday the best day of the year and so pleased we succeeded. We hope to have you back again in the near future. Best regards, Susan and Dan the Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Iv been coming to the outer banks with my family for a while now and haven't even here in about three years I found this beautiful inn! It's goes beyond my expectations! Wonderful breakfast! The room I stayed in had a fire place which made it that much better and a nice jacuzzi tub I didn't get to use unfortunately! The service was excellent nicest people ever and they upgraded us to water view! You can tell they love why they do! But all in all happy that I foud this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

It is such a pleasure when our guests discover the 'amazing' Inn at Corolla Light! We are truly pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to many more visits to the "gem on the Currituck Sound". Thanks again for staying with us....Dan and Susan Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Inn at Corolla was just what we were looking for. We wanted a retreat where we could enjoy the outdoors even if the weather was bad since we were visiting in early March and only had a few days. Our room was great with wrap around views and a nice fireplace and sitting area with sofa. We took full advantage of the continental breakfast offered and enjoyed exchanging stories and information with the other guests in the common area. Dan, the Innkeeper took good care of us and made us feel at home so the feel was more personal and less hotel chain.
The Inn had just refurbished with new carpets, beds and boardwalks, so was clean and comfortable.
We would defintely go there again.
PS- even the weather was good except one stormy day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h2osherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us as we surely enjoyed having you as our guests. We are so pleased the stay was great and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return...hopefully soon! Best regards, Dan Palaschak Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

When we first booked our room at the Inn I had read several mixed reviews, but decided to give it a go due to the new mgmt. Man, am I glad I did! Dan, the Innkeeper, went well out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay! He would greet us when we came in for breakfast, and when we came back at the end of the day. The inn felt exactly like I hoped it would, home. If we had any issues, Dan was there to ensure things were resolved in a quick timely fashion. Corolla was absolutely beautiful, and loved the fact the Inn allowed me quick access to many great photographic locations. Also, I've read some negative reviews that seem to be about things that the Inn can't control (smell of the sound, bugs, moisture in the rooms, etc.) and in my opinion, when you're researching the Outer Banks, these are things you should know and expect before you ever get there. Knowing these things, I KNOW we will be making a return trip to the Outer Banks, and the Inn at Corolla Light. So take the chance I did, have realistic expectations, and I know you'll have a great time! Dan, thank you again for making our stay so fantastic! It's due to you and your great staff that we'll be back in 2013!

Eric Kennedy

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to wirte about your experience and stay at the Inn. It was so good to meet you all and glad your first experience of the Inn and Corolla was so positive. Thanks for the pictures you send me also which were spectacular! We look forward to your return and to seeing you in the future. Sincerely Dan Palaschak Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm in a business where I get phone calls and contracts everyday, so when I get away for an overnight, it has to be a place where I can lay back and regroup. This fall I made the perfect choice for a respite at The Inn at Corolla Light. It was not too far from home (Virginia Beach), sequestered between the trees and sound, and peacefully quiet. Our room overlooked the sound and provided a deck for us to kick back and enjoy some cheese and a glass of wine. Inside our room had a fridge too keep snacks cold and a fireplace for added ambiance. After wine and cheese, we followed the inn keepers suggestion and ate at North Banks in Corolla. It was a hoppin' restaurant with good food and spirits. Breakfast was provided by the Inn and the sausage was exceptional. On our way home we hiked a park and did some shopping. The Inn at Corolla Light and the attentive staff is the way to savor a day off work. Oh, did I mention this was all when hurricane Sandy was approaching the Outer Banks?

Room Tip: From what I could tell each room is unique. We had a sound front room and enjoyed the view. The de...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review! We were so pleased to hear you were able to unwind among the pines overlooking the sound. Our goal is to insure your enjoyment and so pleased we succeeded! We look forward to your return to the "Gem on the Sound". Dan Palaschak Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sunsets from the dock are incomparable but that doesn’t make up for uncomfortable, saggy beds and stained upholstered furniture. Things looked clean until I moved things like the coffee maker and a night stand lamp. Breakfast was passable, taken from the Holiday Inn Express playbook, without the pancakes or waffles. Prepare yourself for weak coffee and prepackaged food. Their claim to fame is some local sausage, which appeared steamed!! I expected more. Not staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank OftOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We replaced most of the bedding last winter and will be upgrading the rest this winter. We try to brew the coffee to suit the broadest tastes. We wish you had let us know that you wanted strong coffee, we could have fixed that in a heartbeat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: $120 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing