We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and better drinks!”
Review of First Light

First Light
Ranked #37 of 88 Restaurants in Corolla
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 22, 2018

My first breakfast on vacation and it was here. We arrived around 11am on a Thursday morning, off-season at that (early October). There was barely anyone inside and only another family of four outside enjoying what's left of the beautiful summer. MIMOSA: This was not your standard champagne and OJ. This was a champagne, pomegranate, stoli and all sorts of goodness in a glass. This DEFINITELY was the way to start our week long vacation! CRAB BENNY: We came here specifically for this and this did NOT disappoint. The crab cakes were perfectly crisp on the outside, moist and crabby on the inside. Topped with the hollandaise sauce.. it was simply perfection!
GRITS: The family of four beside us had recommended us getting this as a side instead of the normal side of potatoes. I'm glad they did as I hadn't had grits in awhile and these were very tasty. The server had a very quirky sense of humor. We weren't sure if he was being a smart-@ss or trying to be funny but we shook it off 'cuz we were all in a happy and festive mood. Definitely great food here and the drinks didn't disappoint!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greekipina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Omelet was mediocre at best. Staff wasn’t attentive. Place needed a good cleaning. There’s better options. Skip this spot.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We love this place, we go there every year. We usually have 17 people for breakfast and we always get a seat. The food is great and we get waited on pretty fast. The biscuits are huge. Everything is fresh and delicious. Everyone is very friendly. Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank ocgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

First light is our first stop on our OBX trips. We arrive early on check in day, just so we can get First Light breakfast/brunch to start the trip right! We also make at least 2 more trips during the week to make sure we get our base for our beach drinking! Their biscuits are AMAZING and HUGE! You cannot go wrong with anything on their menu... oh and the burgers... OMG!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank samanthasY5107BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Cute little diner with amazing food. We had outside seating because the wait for inside was too long and we had a tour scheduled. It was a little cold out of the sun but the food met every expectation for a good southern breakfast. Potatoes covered in melted cheese, covered with bacon, grilled onions and scrambled eggs and you could make it “dirty” by smothering it all in gravy. I took the “dirty” option and was not disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Light also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to First Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing