We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood”

North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar
Ranked #5 of 85 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have been a local's favorite seafood establishment for over 20 years. Daily Lunch and Dinner Specials feature fresh local fish and creative sauces. Our Raw Bar features Steamed Shrimp, Maine Lobster, Littleneck Clams, Seaside and Select Oysters, Maine Mussels and Snow Crablegs. Sit at our Full Service bar, hang with the locals, enjoy your favorite libation and watch Major League Baseball, NFL Footbal and NHL Hockey.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Northbanks for lunch and dinner for many years. Throughout that time the food and service has remained consistent. I would especially recommend the clam chowder and yellowfin tuna. Be prepared to wait since the restaurant is small and the groups waiting are usually very large.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    175
    61
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great spot in Timbuck II”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Lunch at this spot was really awesome! During the season I would recommend getting there by 11:30 for lunch(quite a wait forms after)!! The fish tacos were very tasty. The other dishes at the table received equal compliments! Grab a bite while you're in town! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, PA
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four of us had dinner here last night and all four meals were excellent. I had the Panko and Parmesan Crusted Flounder, my wife had the Tilefish Special, my brother had the Crabcake and my sister-in-law had the Fried Shrimp. Excellent service as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steeler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food very good, the rest average”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Read the reviews so pretty excited about going. I expected to wait, and we did, about 45 minutes which is what they predicted. All good. We were a group of six and as another reviewer commented, I believe a 20% included tips negates any motivation to be great. I'd change that policy. 20% is exceptional service, not standard for mediocrity. Kind of like giving everyone a trophy for trying...Our food was very good. Currituck Crab soup was excellent. My caesar salad was a tad underdressed and no offer of fresh pepper. Crab legs were a hit as were the scallops skewers with bacon. Ribs were also well received. i would make this a $$$ and not a $$. Clean and did not smell "fishy". Not sure if I would go again with many other options.

Overall, good but not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njjimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Corolla”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

North Banks is our "go to" restaurant for a great meal. The pan seared tuna is always excellent and the daily specials intriguing. It is a little on the pricey side, but worth the dollars. During the summer, North Banks usually has a substantial wait time, but with a little planning and a light lunch, arriving early avoids the problem. We often eat there out of season, sometimes at a table, sometimes at the bar. Both are good choices and even during the winter North Banks is busy and fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dotti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing