We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. So-so atmosphere.”

Route 12 Steak & Seafood
Ranked #37 of 85 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in Timbuck II Shopping Village, Corolla, NC Serving Traditional Outer Banks Favorites along with Steaks, Ribs, Pasta and Seafood Specialties Full ABC & carefully selected Wines Open Lunch & Dinner With Superb Service *Full Menu Available To Go *
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food. So-so atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

No windows and sticky floors. The oysters were really top notch however. My wife's drink was clearly made using a powdered drink mix (not her favorite)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 227GregS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    77
    56
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited on a Saturday night and we were pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent. My brother and husband got the fra diovolo which was excellent, I had the Mahi Mahi - also wonderful, and my mom the scallops (she was raving). My only complaint was that the mashed potatoes were only luke warm, but besides that, we found this place to be great. Service was also good. *one note - if you are looking for a quiet meal, this may not be the place for you. Somewhat small place that's very open and it ends up being a bit loud.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Small restaurant but nicely redecorated. The food was very good, but the services was a little slow, even in the off season when it wasn't extremely crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sschultz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Seafood; Steak less so”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of only two restaurants open during the off-season in the Corolla area. Service was friendly. Bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer was yummy. The rest in my group enjoyed their seafood platters.

Ordered a filet Bearnaise medium, but received it well done. Steak has been frozen or a low quality cut, very mealy texture for a filet.

Overall, not a very good value for the quality food and atmosphere, but you they have a captive audience during the off-season.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stopped in and got 2 teas. Looked at the menu, and we had to leave because the prices were out of our range. The server was very understanding and gave us te drinks on the house.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjmo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 12 Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Route 12 Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing