We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant”

Route 12 Steak & Seafood
Ranked #37 of 84 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Small restaurant but nicely redecorated. The food was very good, but the services was a little slow, even in the off season when it wasn't extremely crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sschultz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    77
    55
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Seafood; Steak less so”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of only two restaurants open during the off-season in the Corolla area. Service was friendly. Bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer was yummy. The rest in my group enjoyed their seafood platters.

Ordered a filet Bearnaise medium, but received it well done. Steak has been frozen or a low quality cut, very mealy texture for a filet.

Overall, not a very good value for the quality food and atmosphere, but you they have a captive audience during the off-season.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stopped in and got 2 teas. Looked at the menu, and we had to leave because the prices were out of our range. The server was very understanding and gave us te drinks on the house.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjmo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good meal, service a bit off”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came here for New Years Eve - the food was hot and freshly prepared. Especially good were the ribs - very tasty and melt in your mouth. They did run out of a few items such as Prime Rib and Ribeye Steak, but the filet they substituted was excellent. At the end, we felt like we were very rushed though as we were not offered a dessert menu or asked if we wanted coffee or an after dinner drink, just all of a sudden our checks appeared. We did appreciate them giving us separate checks. I eat here a few times a year as I am a local and the food is always hot and fresh.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Found this place quite by accident and go back year after year. The menu is inventive and food is consistently good. Their specials are the way to go. Fresh, fabulous and fun. Not exactly what I would call a family restaurant, more for adults in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Merri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 12 Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Route 12 Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing