We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ of the trip”

Corolla Village Barbecue
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best BBQ of the trip”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner here! My family had the ribs, pulled pork sandwiches, and pulled pork platter- with sides of coleslaw, mac salad, and potato salad. We suggest ordering the pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw on it- it is delicious! It is just a counter that you can order from, so we enjoyed our meal at the picnic tables under the shade right outside the BBQ Shack. There was a lot of take out happening the night we were there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    61
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Excellent Carolina Style BBQ; Sides Less So...”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

BBQ Quick Tips:
1. NO indoor seating area whatsoever!
2. TripAdvisor photos perfectly show the small service area of this ‘BBQ shack’
3. Parking lot was a large lot that seemed to be shared by the surrounding shops
4. Limited hours: 1030-1700
5. Order at the window; orders came up quickly
6. All drinks were bottled only; no soda fountain
7. All orders are made ‘to-go’ although you can eat on site at their picnic tables
8. Good number of picnic tables are situated under a large shady tree; clean-up after yourself
9. Bug Potential!!! (although on our visit, we were thankfully bug free)
10. Cash/Credit Cards

I ordered a large serving of their Carolina Barbecue; EXCELLENT!!! The sides that came with it were ‘eh’…potato salad was swimming in mayo and the candied yams tasted straight out of the can. The accompanying cornbread however was also excellent; very moist.

I would return for the bbq and try a few different sides; but for the most part, this is an exclusively pick up your bbq and get your sides from somewhere else place for me...

The Currituck Lighthouse is just around the corner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall QUALITY Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Based on other trip advisors, just had dinner at this hole in the wall, off the beaten path.....and we were NOT disappointed. Large portions, high quality BBQ. Get the LARGE pulled pork sandwich with slaw. It was very good. Don't be intimidated by the shack appearance, the food is well worth the stop

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HersheyFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Take Out”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On our last night of vacation we were searching for barbecue. After reading the reviews we decided to drive to Corolla Village Barbecue. There was not a website but I called and the person working listed my options. Only about a ten minute drive (very scenic) from our house in Ocean Lake and so worth the drive. We had barbecue sandwiches (delicious) and ribs which were also amazing. For sides we had the cole slaw, macaroni salad, corn bread, and baked beans. All of the sides were great but the cole slaw absolutely tasted homemade and I don't eat them but the rest of my family loved the baked beans. When you are looking for takeout head to Corolla Village Barbecue it was the perfect end to our vacation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MagpieGlenMillsPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This BBQ shack is in a quaint setting that does not lend itself well to dining on-site because of numerous flies and bugs flying about the picnic tables, so pick-up is probably a better option. The food was quite good but not outstanding. Ribs were the best offering. Nice selection of sauces, mostly NC vinegar based style, of course. The day we visited there was a little girl "helping" to wait on customers which slowed down service for the line of folks waiting for their food, probably not the best customer-service oriented approach. Prices ranged from about $4.50 for a pulled pork sandwich to $11.50 for a rib platter with cornbread and two sides. A good selection of beverages is offered. Would return only if we were really craving BBQ

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JavertPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corolla Village Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Corolla Village Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing