We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch - Not so much”
Review of Salt Water Grill

Salt Water Grill
Ranked #23 of 85 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Here
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch – Not so much”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went for a lunch on cloudy afternoon and had to hunt for a host to seat us … in a nearly empty restaurant. Drinks were off – had to ask for the bacon that was part of the burger description.

All in all – not the best experience. Wouldn’t write it off, lunch may just not be their thing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FDPevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very pricy....food just OK”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We were there for supper meal. There were six in our group....two adults and 4 children, ages 4-16....they didn't allow substitutions for their 'prepared' meals, if you ordered shrimp, you had to peel it yourself...I had to ask for salt and pepper and refills for drinks. The food looked beautiful....but lacked flavor. Our meal was $240 (gratuity added by server).....won't go back....not worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TFHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Food was great - service just OK”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Service was a little frustrating at times. Loved the food though. Got the root beer braised short ribs. Just awesome. Wife got the fried chicken. A little too crisp for her liking. Looked good to me tho.

Expensive. And service was just OK. I'd go back tho.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the park!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For a place we just stumbled on upon a way back from a horse tour we where amazing! Our server Brittany had suggestions for every course right away when we told her of allergies our kids had. We where shocked to find out its a new restaurant! The porkchop and gluten free fish dinner where AMAZING!!! From the attention to allergies, the relaxed decor, and tentative upbeat staff there's no doubt this restaurant will have us back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greensield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our group of four, which included one child, made a last minute reservation on a week night. From the moment we arrived, we felt that our dining choice was a mistake. The acoustics in the dining room made for a loud, unpleasant experience which was exacerbated by the large group seated immediately behind us. Our server was oblivious. He was just okay--not much personality but adequate. Refills were not automatic but had to be requested. The pasta dish did not come with a spoon for twirling the pasta onto the fork nor did it include any kind of bread. We were just not satisfied and have marked it off our list for future visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieraesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Water Grill also viewed

Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Salt Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing