We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Birthday Cake!”

Northern Lights Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are located in beautiful Corolla NC. A full service Bakery specializing in home-made Donuts, pastries, cupcakes, and custom cakes. Amazing coffee is our thing!!! Come and say hello and have a special treat you won't soon forget!
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrific Birthday Cake!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ordered our 1YO’s birthday Elmo Cake, chocolate, white frosting with a strawberry filling and also got a small “smash cake”. It was expensive but worth the cost. I wanted something special for my son’s first birthday.

The cakes were made on time and as promised. Astatically the Elmo was fabulous…they used fondant for the Elmoe face design and splashed some sprinkles on the bottom to jazz it up. They placed the writing on the side. The cake looked great and was quite tasty.

The smash cake was made in a muffin tin….but when I picked it up it looked like a muffin with frosting on it and not a cake. At my request they wiped the frosting clean and made the muffin look like a cake with frosting all around. I had a small taste and it was delicious.

I highly recommend this bakery and would definitely go back. The couple that runs the place are very nice and treat their customers well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaArtoisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    16
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corolla, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you happen to be visiting the Outer Banks in the Corolla area and are looking for a great bakery for breakfast or lunch, a pie or a special cake, this place cannot be beat! You can taste the love they put into their muffins, cookies, pies, donuts, cakes and other pastry delights! They're made fresh daily and the portions are enormous! Cakes and Pies can be made to order. Cookies from your childhood such as Snickerdoodles and Oatmeal Raisin are fantastic along with the eclairs and they are huge! They are located in the Corolla Light Town Center and are well worth the visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“average”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The coffee and pastry was decent however, I think the price was high and the workers not the most friendly. I won't bother to make a trip back there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sallray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good coffee, lots of delicious choices”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This bakery is conveniently located near the Corolla Light resort in a small shopping area with some other restaurants and shops. The coffee was very good, and the baked goods choices were many. The muffins were enormous - almost double the size as those you'd find at Dunkin. The rice crispy treats were huge as were most of the sizes of the other pastries available. Our family tried the donuts - a glazed, chocolate and coconut frosted, and a vanilla frosted. The donuts were similar in taste to those at Dunkin, but we loved that they were made locally at this bakery. It looks like the bakery also sells pies and cakes, which would be nice if you were celebrating a special occasion in OBX.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrimpmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Donuts on the Outer Banks!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Amazing donuts, sweet owner, the eclairs are to die for, and the flourless chocolate cake calls me when I'm away...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benicat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Lights Bakery also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Northern Lights Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing