We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lighthouse”

Currituck Beach Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Used today to light the dark stretches of the southern coastline, this lighthouse was built in 1875 and today can be climbed by the spiral staircase that reaches up 150 feet.
Grandview, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lighthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was beautiful but we wish it had been open so we could have got onto the grounds. We were there 20 years ago and actually went inside the home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    437
    73
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well taken care of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The lighthouse and grounds were well taken care of at this lighthouse. It was in a nice location, fairly easy to get too. There was a private residence, a smaller house that was the gift shop and the lighthouse. There were plenty of places to sit down outside and trees to offer plenty of shade. There are some other things to do around this place, so it seems like you could park and walk around for quite awhile. We just visited the lighthouse and didn't do any of the other activities.

On a side note, there are some public bathrooms here and they are in pretty good shape and a welcome place to stop, since so many public bathrooms are gross. They are right next to the parking lot for the lighthouse.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Climbed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Made of red brick, built in 1875 this Light is beautiful and distinctive. The grounds are well kept and very easy on the eyes. The climb is worth it. I still have my sticker that I got for making it to the top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“There Are Landings--You Can Do it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The view at the top of the lighthouse is terrific and worth some huffing and puffing. It is important to note that you will find landings to rest a moment as you go up (and come down) so don't fear having to tackle all those steps without any opportunity to stop. If you need more than a minute to catch your breath, most of the landings have historical displays so you can learn/read (or pretend to!) interesting factoids while you prepare to climb the next segment.

Handrails are solid, and the stairs are in good shape with a decent pitch.

Up top, the view is 360 degrees and very liberating and breezy. We've encountered some wasps at times (have climbed it approx 10 times), but they aren't looking for a fight.

There is a fee to climb, but it is worth it. It's a little adventure, with a great reward at the top. Plus climbing the lighthouse will make you feel less guilty when you eat dessert at dinner that night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“enjoyed walking about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Another on our tour of 6 lighthouses and lovely to explore the grounds around, walk on the bridge and along the water's edge and definitely bring a picnic b/c this is a lovely place to relax once you are done with the lighthouse and walk to the water side to enjoy a picnic table on the water's edge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currituck Beach Lighthouse also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Currituck Beach Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing