We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Every, and I do mean every, staff person is smiling and helpful. The facility is lovely. The only downside is there is no bar.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPPIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    334
    89
    29
    8
See reviews for
525
544
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I've stayed at Hampton Inns before and liked it. At the Corolla Hampton Inn, I loved it! I don't think I can add much more in the way of reviews for this place, since everyone else seems to have that covered but I'd like to add my own positive thoughts. My wife and I were there for a weekend getaway.

The hotel is clean. They do a great job of keeping the grounds picked-up. The room was not sandy and the bathroom was spotless. They provided the following in our room: Iron & ironing board, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker & coffee, ice bucket & cups, programmable room safe (almost big enough to hold my 17" laptop) and the usual hair dryer, hand lotion, shampoo & conditioner. Having a microwave in the room was nice for leftovers. And the fridge enabled us to have milk in the room for our coffee (which was of decent quality).

The view was terrific. Open the curtains and you're looking at the dunes & ocean. There's some thick brush before the dunes that had us birding from our balcony at times.

The hotel was quiet. Thick walls. Plus, the hotel itself is several hundred yards from Rt. 12, so you don't hear cars either - just ocean, when you open the sliding glass door! The balcony was of adequate size for a couple to sit & sip and had a small table. The bed did not squeak and provided excellent comfort.

The bathroom, as I mentioned, was spotless. It had a heat lamp in the ceiling (I have to get one of these for my house) controlled by a manual timer. The shower was a good size (I'm 6' & 200lbs.) and hot water came on quickly. The toilet was clean and flushed powerfully.

The Hampton Inn provides a hot breakfast each morning at no additional cost. Just go downstairs and load up your plate. The food was Shoney's quality, if you've ever eaten at one of those, so not bad, and in the morning when you're hungry it was most welcome. Plenty of juice, coffee & milk, tea, cereal and danishes are always out, if you don't want to partake of the hot breakfast. The staff made sure keep up with the demand. Eat all you want, fill up & head out to the beach - very cool.

There was plenty of parking and the lot was well-lit. About the grounds in general, besides being clean, it seems they did a nice job of not landscaping the heck out of the area and kept lots of the natural flora - we really liked that. The hotel black cat "mascot" was a nice touch and he readily accepted our snitches when offered. I hope they keep him around - he's friendly, clean & gentle and helped us not miss our cats back home as much.

In season, this hotel is not cheap - you pay a premium price for the location, beach view & amenities - but we had no complaints. Should we need a hotel again in Duck or Corolla, we'll certainly stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had a fantastic weekend stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. The room was exactly as it was described, all hotel staff was extremely friendly in such a helpful manner. We stayed in early May so we beat the summer crowds and had a super time. We'll be back every year!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkgemla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This hotel was clean, had knowledgeable, friendly staff, and is one of the only ones on the north end of OBX. Raymond in particular, was excellent. When we arrived, the room we were assigned was directly above the dumpster, and after asking to be moved, we were quickly accommodated, and Raymond even took the time to come up to the new room with us, just to make sure it was satisfactory. He was very polite, as well knowledgeable about good places to eat in the area (which weren't many, since it was before high season). A complimentary hot breakfast was served from 6-10am, and we even took a little back to our room with coffee to enjoy on the balcony. Altogether it was a peaceful, relaxing weekend. Would definitely recommend, particularly in off-season.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjt84n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

This was our 3rd visit to this Hampton Inn. We choose to spend the Thanksgiving weekend there to get away from all the holiday traffic. The hotel was about 1/2 full, but, we had all the regular services as if we were staying during high season. There are still enough places to eat and stores open to meet our needs. The only suggestion would be that the staff should be more aware of which places were to be open for Thanksgiving dinner to be able to make reservations. This required a little looking around before going to find a place to eat on Thanksgiving Day.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravellerDurhamNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
229 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel, great service, clean, neat rooms (we had a oceanfront suite) and in early November the room rate was pretty good ($122 a night) we stayed here for two nights with my wife and I and two teenage daughters and they had plenty to do, pool to themselves, game room (the games could use an upgrade...too old) and the lobby was clean, lavish and safe (the girls even had the hotel cat to play with outside.) But I have to agree with one reviewer that said, " the whole place feels pretty sterile." Just not a typical OBX place to stay. You don't feel like you are on the Outer Banks. You could be anywhere in the country. The breakfast was very good, the service was great and the dining area clean and neat. Great place to stay...in the fall.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sterile atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lee5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

This hotel is in a beautiful area, wonderful grounds surrounding it. Very relaxing place, the breakfast was fantastic, rooms kept very clean, as was pool area. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — landscaping, clean rooms, pool areas, great breakfast inc.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing