We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is great for location, the pools are great, the free breakfast is perfect. We stayed with kids and they loved it too. It is very close to the beach. They provide free towels. Pizza delivers to the rooms quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank karenkQ8460MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    334
    89
    29
    8
See reviews for
527
547
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife, three daughters (7-13), and I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites over our short, three-day "get-away" beach trip in mid-August 2014. The hotel is clean with great beach access and a nice outdoor pool. We had a standard room on the first floor and it was fine for three nights. The free breakfast is a very nice feature. It was crowded in the mornings but the lines go quickly.

As much as we liked the Corolla Hampton Inn, I don't think we could do a full week without a kitchen and access to laundry. When we come back next year and stay for a full week we will likely move to a rental house. That said, if you're only here three (maybe four) nights this is a great place...or if there aren't five of you in the room.

I should point out that the crowds are smaller starting the week we arrived (Aug. 16). I'm not sure what my review would be if the place was packed. There was a decent amount of people but it wasn't overly crowded.

One final note, if we did come back to the Hampton Inn I'd strongly consider upgrading to a suite. The extra room would be nice.

Room Tip: First floor wings have quick beach and pool access but I'd probably want a suite if we visit aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJMQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This Hampton Inn & Suites is expensive ($300 a night in season) but it is a lovely hotel and worth a stay. Situated in the northern outer banks it is in a relatively quiet non-commercial area with giant new homes to its north and not too much in view to the south of it. The hotel is right on the beach, has three pools including a kiddie pool, a lazy river and a regular pool. All clean and well-maintained. As short walk over the dunes on a boardwalk and there is the beach. The ocean here does not seem to be a rough as it is in Nags Head or points south but the beach has lifeguards and does not slope as much to the water. Because of the location, the beach is not too crowded. The hotel has a hose and shower for use after going on the beach, a nice touch.

The hotel lobby is well appointed with a lovely sea shell display and the hotel has two wings with the lobby in the middle. Breakfast is complimentary and well done, similar to all Hampton Inn breakfasts. Everything is clean and neat. We arrived very early as we drove up from another hotel in Nags Head and the very pleasant young lady at the desk told us that we were welcome to use the pool and beach while our room was being cleaned. About 1:00 she called us to tell us it was ready-extra points for the early check in, and she upgraded us to a mini-suite as it was available and we were returning guests (hadn't been there since 2008 but an upgrade is great) The mini-suite was not ocean facing but it was large, had a couch and table, a kitchenette, two queen beds and a very nice bathroom. The only problem was that my daughter found some empty soda bottles behind the couch-but no points deducted for that.

Unfortunately, we stayed only one night, but I would highly recommend this place and will return in the future myself. Note, you can get rooms for less than the $300 price if you book early, like 6 months early. Also note, the area in which this hotel is located is not highly commercial and you have to drive a bit to get to a restaurant. There is a small diner adjacent to the Hampton Inn but it is not good, has a small menu and is expensive-it has nothing to do with the Hampton Inn it just is next to it. There are some restaurants north and south but the area is nothing like the Kill Devil, Nags Head, Kitty Hawk area at all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is of course more expensive but not worth the higher price in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Very clean with a helpful staff and great location. Room is typical for a Hampton with plenty of space in a clean comfortable room. Breakfast a little better that some other Hamptons. Nice pool and hot tub plus direct beach access.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Really nice place to stay if you are looking for a nice time at the beach. Short walk to the beach from the Hotel, Beach was not crowded and very peaceful. All around a great place for couples to spend a weekend or an entire week with lots to do within a short drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is an excellent property in a nice family beach. Great access to Corolla and Duck for those who wish to stay less than a week. Pools are excellent and beach is quite and well maintained. We have been going here annually for most of the last 10 years.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We always love this hotel. We have stayed here three times. If you are traveling with somebody who needs a shower chair, I highly recommend you bring your own. The lazy river and the pool are beautiful and not too cold when we stayed there. We brought our own floats and had a blast with them. The beds are perfectly made each day. We required a lot of extra linens, and the housekeeping staff provided them promptly. I love the location of this hotel too. As far as I know, it's the only one that far up the Outer Banks. And having a disabled adult with us, we were able to drive right onto the beach very close to the hotel, making things much easier for us. Free breakfast is always a plus. And we loved the kitty. What a friendly little addition. I love the story of Sysco!

Room Tip: We like the larger suites with an ocean view. They cost more, but are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vandy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing