We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced and Pointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hampton Inn, on the North Carolina Coast. The area is very nice and understandably, very popular. The Hotel, however, is not worth the 80,000 points it took to stay there!
Their is no restaurant, no bar, the pool towels are as big as a postage stamps. By the pool, their was trash sitting for 2 days, the sprinkler system by both pools was broken and daily sprayed water up 5 feet. In our room, their was two (2) wasp nests in the outer screen door, preventing its use until the staff came up and sprayed killer on them. The porch was still very dirty from sand (understandably) but the bug droppings and cobwebs in the corner, i don't understand. Additionally, their were tiles in the bathroom fallingoff the walls. This i can understand from a lower valued property, but they consider themselves a level 9 out of 10, level property! ( a $400) room.....Perhaps it was the holiday weekend? I doubt it!
The staff that worked there did a great job, and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailua_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want a great hotel with fantastic beach access – this is the place for you. My wife and I just got back from a wonderful Labor Day weekend here. The staff was all so pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was terrific. The beach was un-crowded even on a major holiday weekend. The only drawback with the Hampton Inn in Corolla is that sooner or later you are going to have to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The Hotel is directly on the beach. It has three floors, three outdoor pools, one indoor pool and a whirlpool. The fitness center is just fine, nothing fancy. The staff is very helpful, will do just about anything you ask of them. We originally paid for a "partial view" room. Do not pay the extra money, its not worth it. Our room actually had a view of the ocean and of the garbage dump:( We asked to be moved and they gave us room 313, which was just lovely. Its labeled a non view bc you can not see the ocean, but you can see a beautiful area of live oat trees and the sun setting over the parking lot:), Really the parking lot did not bother me, I just angled my chair on the balcony to face the marsh! Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. The two areas that could be improved on is the breakfast variation. Its tradition American unhealthy spread of waffles, pancakes, bacon, bagels, muffins...they did offer Yoplait yogurt, which is full of corn syrup and sugar and gelatin( which is an animal based product). I say this bc both me and my husband are vegan/ vegetarian. I would definitely stay here again and request ahead of time some healthy breakfast options like, whole grain bread, soy or almond yogurt, or even a greek Fage yogurt would be better than the Yoplait. More fruit would be great also.They where so helpful in all other ways I am sure they could accommodate our dietary needs. The second area of improvement is the house keeping. There is a BIG sign on the elevator doors that reads - EVERYDAY the change the bed linens. So when we came back from the beach, some sand got on the bed bc I took a nap. Later that day I had to request the room be cleaned bc it still had not at about 3pm. When we came back at 10pm and went to bed there was sand still in the sheets. So obviously whoever cleaned our room slacked off on the changing of the linens. We where leaving the nxt day, so I did not have time to bring it up to the front desk.
Otherwise it is a great beautiful property and lovely staff. They also have a resident black cat named Sysco who is very sweet, she stays outside the hotel and is feed and taken care of by the staff:)

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor away from elevator are the best. Do not pay for the partial view, really you only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The breakfast was feeding a herd of cattle. Crazy. The outside of the hotel not kept up. Check in was 4:00. We got in at 4:30. Needs some TLC. The trash needs to be taken out regularly. Pool area OK. Needs some care.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Anna1988_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is right on the beach with three floors. Two elevators. Believe every room has a deck. If you don't have ocean view you should have excellent sunset views. Great to consider when you don't want to rent a house for the whole week. Having the flexibility to arrive/depart on a weekday really cuts down on the traffic into/out of Corolla. Just wish they had full kitchens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Swimmers450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have stayed at this Hampton several years. Let me just say that any resort property gets lots of wear and tear but housekeeping works hard to maintain standards. Loved being on ground floor and conveniently located near parking. Overall, a nice hotel it just doesn't have anything nearby. Driving everywhere to eat, shop or entertainment can be a bit of a drive. Hopefully there will be something developed nearby in the future. I would recommend this hotel for the beach access, lazy river for children and a great family oriented stay.

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor but any room should be great. Ceilings are also higher and make rooms feel m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Obviously a property that has spent a great deal of time and money on their guest accommodations. Their lobby is absolutely gorgeous and their guest rooms are well taken care of. I love that we had outside access on the first floor! The hotel is right on the beach and has an indoor, outdoor pool and lazy river for the kids. I've been a hotel employee for close to 5 years and I'm pretty picky about my hotels: this one is a keeper.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
16.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
937 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range: $119 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing