We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for families...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have been coming to the Outer Banks for over 20 years but because the trip is so long we decided to stay an extra couple of days at this hotel. The hotel and rooms were very clean and breakfast and parking were included. The pool and beach area were extremely crowded as we were in the middle of an extreme heat wave and the hotel was completely booked. If you are looking for a quiet spot by the beach or the pool to relax this would not be the place for you. Kids are running, jumping, splashing and yelling all over the place and many of them were unsupervised (not the fault of the hotel). We ended up leaving a day early because it wasn't worth dealing with the crowds of people anymore. I would definitely stay at this hotel again but not on a weekend in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andersbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed three nights in an ocean front room. Very clean, very quiet and great views. Right on the beach. The beach in front of the hotel is much less crowded than other parts of Corolla. I only wish there was a restaurant and bar on the premisis. You can buy individual beers at the front desk, and there is a restaurant next door, but it has very limited hours.

Room Tip: Must be on upper level for ocean view. Ground floor view blocked by dunes.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed three nights in this hotel the first week of July. We’ve been to the Corolla area before but have always rented a house. We only had a few days to be at the beach this time, so this was our best (only) option. We’d seen the hotel before but had never been inside. It turned out to be a very nice place to stay.

The hotel is very well planned and easy to navigate. As if the lure of the ocean right over the dunes isn’t enough, the lobby has a nice display of shells that makes you know you are at the beach. All of the staff we encountered was very knowledgeable and friendly. Check in was quick. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the pool, with a partial view of the ocean. We had a king bed and pull-out sofa for our two kids (under age 11). We opted for the view rather than the bigger suite, which was fine. The regular room had enough room for all four of us. Everything was clean. The bathroom had enough space and light. My only minor complaint would be that there was no fan in the bathroom. We didn’t use the balcony for anything other than drying out our towels and suits, but it had two chairs and a side table.

The breakfast provided by the hotel was wonderful – one of the best I’ve ever seen. Plentiful tables that were cleaned regularly and offerings that changed daily. It helped to soften the price of the room! We also took advantage of the free coffee provided 24 hours/day. I am convinced that every hotel should have that. We were not fans of the water taste, but it is the beach so that’s not surprising. The vending machine on our floor was sold out and not restocked during our stay, but we purchased a small case of water at the Harris Teeter down the road and kept it in the refrigerator. We had pizza delivered one rainy night to the room. The front desk provided us with menus from two places that delivered to the hotel.

I did laundry one night using the laundry room beside the elevator. It “closed” at 11:00 p.m., which is when I was done, but no one else was using it. There was only one washer and one dryer and each cost $1 in quarters per cycle. It only took one cycle to dry, and I had a fairly big load. I thought this was a great option, given how much laundry you can generate on a beach trip.

The regular outdoor pool was wonderful. We always could find a place to sit, and usually could be in the shade. There was a bit of the "towel game" being played, but it wasn't too bad. The lazy river was a bit of a bust. Toward the end of our stay, closer to the weekend, it did get more crowded around the pool. One night when it was raining we moved to the inside pool, which was not too big, but does have a hot tub. There are towels to use, but we brought our own from home and mostly preferred them. The beach in front of the hotel is glorious. Even at the height of summer all we had to do was walk a little to the side of the hotel access and we had plenty of beach to ourselves. There’s a lifeguard and someone renting chairs and umbrellas daily. The hotel also provides buckets and shovels for kids.

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay. The kids enjoyed looking for the hotel cat, Cisco. If we ever have a reason to stay less than a week in Corolla, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperHeritageTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I am a hotel snob first off and this is an older hotel that is "independently owned" but operates under the Hampton name. When I pay $400 a night for an Ocean Front room..I expect a view. We were on the second floor and were totally blocked by the Sand Dunes. The only way you will have a view of the ocean is form the 3rd floor so make sure you request that. The breakfast was standard make your own waffles but was so crowded you couldn't even get anything or sit anywhere. The room was quite older and had several smudge marks all over the walls (I think they tried to repaint (at least that is what I told myself). There was lots of rust and mold int he bathrooms. The room above us..we could hear EVERYTHING! It was really bad! I would not return to this property..way to far away from everything for us. I am used to Myrtle and Destin properties and this doesn't compare in the least. Corolla was beautiful but way too crowded with people and not enough places to eat for us.I wished we had went to Hatteras now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SmurfySmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I travel often for business and frequent Hampton Inns. This one was by far one of the best. It offers a wonderful location in Corolla, easy access to a fantastic beach and has a staff / amenities that is on par with much more expensive hotels. The included breakfast was good (as usual with Hampton Inns) and the property is beautiful. I cannot overstate how wonderful the beach is at this part of Corolla. If you are headed to the Northern Outer Banks and not renting a house, the Hampton Inn needs to be on your shortlist.

Room Tip: Groundlevel rooms are normally not what I'd recommend but these offer patios w/ wonderfully easy...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaCapsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in a suite with a sea view. Rooms are clean, the suite was great size for 2 adults and 2 children. This is certainly not your average Hampton Inn. The location is just superb, as a short walk over the dunes and you are on the beach. Amazingly, it was not crowded at all. We had lots of space, not at all like the Jersey Shore! Looking down the beach it was busy elsewhere but where the Hampton Inn is located seems to ensure that extra bit of privacy and room. The water was a little cool for late June (70 one day and 60 another) but warm enough to swim, jump in the waves and also body board. The beach was also extremely clean and also had a life guard.

The hotel itself is very nice, excellent front desk service and a decent hot breakfast. The hotel is also well located to visit Corolla north of the hotel and Duck to the south. Definitely check out the shops at Timbuk 2 a few miles north of the hotel.

This was our first trip to the Outerbanks and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting. All in all good hotel choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_W_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

As far as Hampton Inns go, this is one of the best ones I've yet to visit. It is in a perfect location for a stay in the incredible Outer Banks. The hotel is in a great location and ocean front. The dunes are super high, so looking out the windows, don't expect to actually see the waves crashing, but it is a beautiful view none the less. We were here the week before Thanksgiving, got lucky with great weather, and had the beach to ourselves the first hour after sunrise. It was never crowded until Thanksgiving day. The room was really big, we booked a suite, and as usual, Hampton Inn has a large breakfast experience included each morning. The representatives were very friendly, the lobby is beautiful, the rooms are great, the location is excellent......I love it here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovellamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
16.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
912 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,560 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range: $120 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing