We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Outer Banks Restaurant Tours - CLOSED

Outer Banks Restaurant Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Outer Banks Restaurant Tours offers walking and driving tours to restaurants and markets in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Tours are offered weekly from early May through early October in Duck, Kitty Hawk, and Corolla. Participants meet chefs and owners and sample signature dishes paired with wine or beer. Outer Banks Restaurant Tours also offers a fabulous Brews-day Tuesday Beer Tour, a Thirsty Thursday Winery Tour featuring a picnic lunch on the grounds of the vineyard, a scrumptious Dessert Tour, and Cooking Classes featuring fresh, local ingredients. Be sure to check out our new Blue Crab Kayak and Cook Tour on Tuesdays. It's fun, it's educational, and it's delicious! These tours are truly unique experiences in the Outer Banks. So, bring your appetite and join us for an informative, fun-filled, and hunger-satisfying afternoon!
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited OBX in early October 2012. While researching things to do there on TA, we came across several kudo's for this tour. We had never done a restaurant tour and didn't know what to expect, but we sure will do it again. Terry an Richard were fabulous hosts. All of the places we went to were top notch and delicious! We had the best crab cakes EVER at the Coastal Provisions market and i was great to meet the host there as well as all the other places. It is a must do. We did the Kitty Hawk tour and loved it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ilene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    3
    0
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gretna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a marvelous experience. We did the Duck tour and loved everything we tried and meeting all the business owners, hearing their stories and sampling the wonderful chosen treats. Terry has chosen great spots to tour. We highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthernVAandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Do as many of these tours as your time and budget allow. We did Kitty Hawk, Duck and Corolla and have been raving to everyone since. Terry has put together a wonderful assortment of eateries with delicious tastings and treats. We met delightful chefs and learned so much more about food and wine. This was well worth the cost and we look forward to going again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paulaboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Do !!!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I took two of the tours, the Duck walking tour and the Corolla tour. Both were fantastic ! We have been to the Outer Banks several times and have even eaten in a few of the restaurants included on the tour. Meeting the owners and chefs, hearing their stories of how they came to the Outer Banks, and enjoying the delicious food that they prepared for us made our vacation memorable. Terry, the owner of Restaurant Tours, offers a tour of Kitty Hawk restaurants which we plan to go on when we return to the Outer Banks. I would not hesitate to book a tour, it is a great way to spend an afternoon and to sample some excellent food of the Outer Banks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Take one of these tours!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am so glad my friend found an advertisement for Outer Banks Restaurant Tours in one of those magazines that can be found in locations such as grocery stores and hotel rooms on the Outer Banks. We chose to do the Duck walking tour on a Tuesday. We met Terry, the owner and guide, at a designated place. There were six of us on this particular tour. We spent the next four hours or so going to Tommy’s Market and several restaurants. We ended at a ice cream/chocolate/ pastry shop called The Sweet Duck. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this tour! If you decide to go on the Duck tour, wear your walking shoes! I am glad we had a chance to be outside and enjoy the views of the sound. It was a great way to spend an afternoon. Read the other reveiws to get more detail about this tour. I plan to go on another tour, perhaps the Corolla tour, when I return to the Outer Banks a few weeks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelingGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outer Banks Restaurant Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing