We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love their Steaks and Burgers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JK's Restaurant - CLOSED

JK's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love their Steaks and Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

They have Burger Night, where fresh sirloin is ground up for out-of-this-world burgers. Steaks are also awesome. Only complaint is that sound really travels, so if you have noisy customers there, you will hear them throughout the restaurant. Otherwise, first-rate experience - Owner is super friendly and welcoming.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
511 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great food Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I think the best white tablecloth place for dinner onthe OBX. Be prepared, it is a bit pricy. But the food was prepared perfectly and woth the price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gem of a Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first night in OBX, after driving 5 hours, tired and hungry; we find JK's by a stroke of luck. I wanted steak!!! This is the place to find it. They had a full rack of lamb on special, well, that's all you had to say to me. My companion had a chicken dish that was out of this world. This is an absolute must when you are in OBX. From the outstanding service to the food that was exceptionally prepared and presented to the proportions - Can't beat this venue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A good find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pricey, but the steaks were tasty and cooked perfectly. Shrimp skewers had excellent seasoning. Wasn't impressed with the kids menu - the least expensive item was the rubbed chicken breast which was very salty/spicy. Nice place - I'm sure we will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hkm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although we were tempted to snub our noses at a steak place in a strip mall, we decided their menu looked great, and we should give it a try. And I am so glad we did! JK's ended up being one of the best meals we had all week, gaining a coveted spot on our "must have" list for next year!

Once you enter the front doors, you'll forget the location. The ambience is cozy, not too many tables, not too noisy. Our waitress was so friendly, accommodating, and even offered crayons for our little one to draw with (they lay paper on the tables). After placing our drink orders, she brought out steaming hot bread and butter, which hit the spot. She then rattled off a long list of fresh fish specials--they get fresh fish every day so if you're not a steak person, you'll be happy too!

I ordered the flounder special, fresh flounder topped with crab meat and a lemon butter sauce. It was served with their snap peas (if you've read other reviews--yes, they're really that good) and rice pilaf. It was cooked perfectly, allowing the flavors to really stand out. As another in our party commented, "someone back there really knows their way around a kitchen!" The others in our party had perfectly cooked steaks. They were equally delicious, served with a generous portion of their yummy redskin mashed potatoes. I don't remember the last time I looked over at a restaurant and saw my husband's plate empty--he ate every single bite of his entree!

So, of course, we had to try dessert. And it did not disappoint! We all shared an order of brownie pie, profiteroles and vanilla ice cream. All made here. All to die for.

After dinner, we exited into the crowded parking lot, and once again, remembered where we were. But it no longer mattered. Who were we to suggest that a steak restaurant shouldn't be located in a strip mall? Hey, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. And this place, is definitely getting it right.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank got2getoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JK's Restaurant also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing