We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip, kids loved it”

Coastal Explorations
Ranked #12 of 22 Tours in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Explorations is an outdoor touring company dedicated to providing adventure, education, and entertainment fueled by the resources in our own backyard - The Outer Banks of North Carolina. Come join us on a kayak trip or a boat trip, rent your own kayak, or go on a crabbing charter for some fun and a fresh seafood dinner!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip, kids loved it”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Great trip with our 3 daughters (4,8,10). Lots of fun. Great setup, located right on the sound. We spent over an hour paddling and scooping up fish, shrimp, etc with nets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kjwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for:)”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just finished our kid kayak tour with Anne and it was exactly what we wanted. Our three kids, 7, 10, and 12, did very well and were engaged the whole trip. Anne did a wonderful job of describing the wildlife in the sound and easily identified all of the critters that we scooped up in our fishing nets. The water was fairly calm, making it easy for the kids to paddle. We all had a lot of fun! Thanks Anne!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank camproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply great - Kayak Sunset Tour”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went as a family of four for a Sunset Kayak Tour - and it was awesome. The sound waters were tranquil despite the relative high wind conditions and the scenery was simply amazing. The Kayaking equipment was in tip-top shape - the Kayak's were Wilderness Systems Pongo 14 ft model. We were a little spoil for this excursion because it was just the four of us with our fabulous guide Liz who couldn't be any nicer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamlet_63017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mellow and awesome stand up paddle boarding experience!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Coastal Explorations stand up paddling boarding lesson was great. Anne, my private guide, was knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna. She gave great instruction. It was less like going out with a guide and more like going out with a friend who happened to be really good at SUPing. I appreciated the laid back, but knowledgeable, approach. They had great equipment too. Every Coastal Exploration employee I spoke to during my stay, and my many phone calls ahead of my vacation, was friendly and knowledgeable. I also rented a bike from them for the week and it was well worth the price. The bike was in good working order and even came with a basket and helmet. Overall, a great experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went on a sunrise kayak tour in the Currituck Sound. My husband has only kayaked once before and I have kayaked several times. The trip was really fun and easy (not to physically strenous!) We had a great time watching the sun rise over the sound. We saw a lot of wildlife including two bald eagles!! The guide was knowledgeable and helpful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Explorations also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Coastal Explorations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing